The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Postmasters of Bucksport and Bucks Mills, Maine
including Bucks Mills, Bucksport Center, East Bucksport, Millvale, North Bucksport, Santiago

Postmasters at Bucksport, 1860-1931 (may be incomplete!)
Jonathan Wood as of 1860-61 Guy W. McAlister 1889-91 Harry B. Parker 1893-95 Carroll C. Homer 1895-99 Guy W. McAlister 1899-1907 Chandler M. Wilson as of 1931

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1895 Apr 13: Harry B. Parker, died in office.

    Bucks Mills

    Postmasters at Bucks Mills, 1860-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Robert Trim as of 1860-61 B. S. Harriman as of 1889-91 Shepard W. Rideout as of 1901

    Bucksport Center

    Postmasters at Bucksport Center, 1860-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Nehemiah Cole as of 1860-61 C. A. Arey as of 1889-91 Fred A. Arey as of 1901

    East Bucksport

    Postmasters at East Bucksport, 1856-1920 (may be incomplete!)
    Moses W. Hewey 1856-62 Samuel T. Page 1862-68 Moses W. Hewey 1868-84 Melville W. Hewey 1885-1920

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1884 Oct 6: Moses W. Hewey, died in office.
  • 1920 Jun 8: Melville W. Hewey, died in office.


    Postmasters at Millvale, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Eben B. Moore as of 1901

    North Bucksport

    Postmasters at North Bucksport, 1860-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Benjamin Groce as of 1860-61 Farnsworth B. Marshall as of 1901


    Postmasters at Santiago, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Laura L. Davis as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ME/ofc/bucksport.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]