The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Rockville, Maryland
including Montgomery Court House
Mayors, Postmasters

Mayors of Rockville, 1888-2002 (may be incomplete!)
William V. Bouic 1888-90 Daniel F. Owens 1890 William V. Bouic 1890-91 Hattersley W. Talbott 1892-93 Jacob Poss 1893-94 John G. England 1894-96 Joseph Reading 1896-98 Spencer C. Jones 1898-1901 Hattersley W. Talbott 1901-06 Lee Offutt 1906-16 Willis B. Burdette 1916-18 Lee Offutt 1918-20 O. M. Linthicum 1920-24 Charles G. Holland 1924-26 J. Roger Spates 1926-32 Douglas Blandford 1932-46 G. LaMar Kelly 1946-52 Daniel Weddle 1952-54 Dickran Y. Hovsepian 1954-58 Alexander J. Greene 1958-62 Frank A. Ecker 1962-68 Achilles M. Tuchtan 1968-72 Matthew J. McCartin 1972-74 William E. Hanna, Jr. 1974-82 John R. Freeland 1982-84 Viola D. Hovsepian 1984-85 Steven Van Grack 1985-87 Douglas M. Duncan 1987-93 James Coyle 1993-95 Rose G. Krasnow 1995-2001 Larry Giammo 2001-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1948 May 3: G. LaMar Kelly, elected unopposed.
  • 2001 Nov 6: Larry Giammo, elected; Robert Wright, defeated.

    Postmasters at Rockville, 1825-1986 (may be incomplete!)
    Gassaway Perry 1825-32 John Adamson, Jr. 1832-33 William W. Thompson 1833 John Adamson, Jr. 1833-36 Samuel C. Veirs 1836-40 H. Franklin Veirs 1841 Nathan Holland 1841-45 Henry F. Veirs 1845-49 John Poole 1849 William Thomas Poole 1849-50 John Braddock, Jr. 1850-51 Matthew Fields 1851-53 Thomas G. Harris 1853 John W. Spates 1853-55 Charles M. Price 1855-56 David H. Bonic 1856-61 Thomas L. Bailey 1861-63 Richard M. Williams 1863 John T. Bevans 1863-70 John G. England 1870-85 Albert J. Almoney 1885-89 Thomas Dawson 1889-93 Albert J. Almoney 1893-97 Charles B. Jones 1897-1901 James P. B. Veits 1901-10 Willis B. Burdette 1910-14 Winifred E. Berry 1914-15 John L. Johns 1915 William S. Day 1915-16 Joseph Reading 1916-21 Harry A. Dawson 1921-25 Willis B. Burdette 1925-26 Willis B. Burdette 1926-30 George W. Mullican 1930-31 Charles M. Jones 1931-35 George L. Edmonds 1935 George L. Edmonds 1935-43 Norman E. Ward 1943-44 Norman E. Ward 1944-52 Bernard Joseph Poss 1952-53 Henry A. Dawson 1953 Henry A. Dawson 1953-55 Hugh H. Hassell 1955-56 Hugh H. Hassell 1956-61 Bert M. Drott 1961 Lee C. Hocker 1961-63 Lee C. Hocker 1963-86

    Montgomery Court House
    (renamed Rockville)

    Postmasters at Montgomery Court House, 1794-1825 (may be incomplete!)
    Thomas P. Willson 1794-1813 Enoch Busson 1813-14 Brice Selby 1814-16 John Braddock 1816-17 John Adamson, Jr. 1817-25

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MD/ofc/rockville.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]