The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Laurel, Maryland
including Laurel Factory
Mayors, Postmasters

Mayors of Laurel, 1890-2002 (may be incomplete!)
Judson T. Cull 1890-91 Charles H. Stanley 1891-93 J. R. Huntt 1893-94 Gustavus B. Timanus 1894-95 Edward Phelps 1895-1902 Gustavus B. Timanus 1902-05 T. Watts Byerly 1905-06 William E. Gilbert 1906-10 George McCeney 1910-12 George W. Waters, Jr. 1912-18 George P. McCeney 1918-20 William E. Gilbert 1920 Edward F. Tolson 1920-22 Charles E. Little 1922-24 Thomas D. Roberts 1924-25 DeWilton H. Donaldson 1925-28 James P. Curley 1928-30 John H. Fetty 1930-34 Julian B. Anderson 1934-36 Everard E. Hatch 1936-40 Edward F. Tolson 1940-46 John H. Fetty 1946-48 Merrill L. Harrison 1948-54 Harry Hardingham, Jr. 1954-58 Hiram J. Soper 1958-62 P. G. Melbourne III 1962-64 Merrill L. Harrison 1964-72 Leo E. Wilson 1972-78 Robert J. DiPietro 1978-86 Doris A. Duniho 1986-90 Joseph R. Robison 1990-94 Frank P. Casula 1994-2001 Michael R. Leszcz 2001-02 Craig A. Moe 2002-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 2001 Oct 21: Frank P. Casula, died in office.
  • 2002 Mar 18: Craig A. Moe, elected.

    Postmasters at Laurel, 1873-1984 (may be incomplete!)
    James Curley 1873-85 James A. Crandle 1885-90 Philip P. Castle 1890-93 John A. Flannery 1893-98 Charles F. Shaffer, Jr. 1898-1905 Gustavus B. Timanus 1905-14 Michael J. Tighe 1914-16 Thomas F. Murphy 1917 Henry F. Frost 1917 Mary Eliza Tighe 1917-18 Emory P. Heslip 1918 Emory P. Heslip 1918-23 Gustavus B. Timanus 1923-28 Alfred E. Williamson 1928-29 Alfred E. Williamson 1929-34 Elizabeth H. S. Boss 1934 Elizabeth H. S. Boss 1934-44 Gilbert Franklin Murphy 1944 Gilbert Franklin Murphy 1944-68 Russell W. Beall 1968 Russell W. Beall 1968-84

    Laurel Factory
    (renamed Laurel)

    Postmasters at Laurel Factory, 1837-73 (may be incomplete!)
    Edward Snowden 1837-42 George Hopper 1842-44 Thomas C. Miller 1844-45 John S. Heckrotte 1845 De Wilton Snowden 1845-48 Robert C. Davis 1848-49 George H. Hall 1849-53 Jesse Duvall 1853-61 George H. Hall 1861-66 Charles S. Duvall 1866-69 George H. Hall 1869 Mary C. Hall 1869-73

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MD/ofc/laurel.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]