The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Gaithersburg, Maryland
including Forest Oak
Mayors, Postmasters

Mayors of Gaithersburg, 1898-2002 (may be incomplete!)
George W. Meem 1898-1904 Carson Ward 1904-06 John W. Walker 1906-08 E. D. Kingsley 1908-12 Richard H. Miles 1912-18 John W. Walker 1918-24 Walter M. Magruder 1924-26 William McBain 1926-48 Harry C. Perry, Sr. 1948-54 Merton F. Duvall 1954-66 John W. Griffith 1966-67 Harold C. Morris 1967-74 Susan E. Nicholson 1974 Milton M. Walker 1974-76 B. Daniel Walder 1976-78 Bruce A. Goldensohn 1978-86 W. Edward Bohrer, Jr. 1986-98 Sidney A. Katz 1998-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1948: Harry C. Perry, Sr., elected unopposed.

    Postmasters at Gaithersburg, 1873-1973 (may be incomplete!)
    Henry C. Ward 1873-85 John A. Belt 1885-90 Richard H. Miles 1890-93 John A. Belt 1893-97 Richard H. Miles 1897-1917 G. W. Etchison 1917-21 Calvin S. Duvall 1921-34 Herbert L. Diamond 1934 Herbert L. Diamond 1934-37 Melvin L. Ridgely 1937 Melvin L. Ridgely 1937-45 C. Gorman Griffith 1945-48 C. Gorman Griffith 1948-54 Jeanette E. Sweadner 1954-56 Maurice A. Spalding 1956-66 Daniel C. Robertson 1966-67 Daniel C. Robertson 1967-73

    Forest Oak
    (renamed Gaithersburg 1873)

    Postmasters at Forest Oak, 1851-73 (may be incomplete!)
    Joseph Thompson 1851-62 John House 1862-63 James S. Fulks 1863-64 Henry C. Ward 1864-73

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MD/ofc/gaithersburg.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]