The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Elkton, Maryland

Mayors of Elkton, 1867-2013 (may be incomplete!)
David Scott 1867-68 Palmer C. Strickland 1868-70 Harry D. M. Howard 1870-71 Charles M. Ellis 1871-72 George Turner 1872-73 John Gilpin 1873-74 G. Gray 1874-75 Samuel Ford 1875-76 John Perkins 1876-77 John Partridge 1877-79 L. M. Haines 1879-80 John Perkins 1880-81 Joseph Hinchlife 1881-82 Robert Marshbank 1882-83 Joseph Terrell 1883-84 William Jones 1884-85 Dunbar Morgan 1885-86 George A. McQuilken 1886-87 David Bratton 1887-88 Edward Taylor 1888-89 George Blake 1889-96 George Kerfoot 1896-98 Samuel J. Keys 1898-1900 George A. McQuilken 1900-04 Elmore Deibert 1904-06 William H. Mackall 1906-08 James F. Powers 1908-10 H. Arthur Mitchell 1910-14 William D. Price 1914-16 William H. Mackall 1916-26 Taylor W. McKenney 1926-35 Henry H. Mitchell 1935-55 Edmund B. McCloskey 1955-63 John P. Stanley 1963-67 Kenneth A. Wilcox 1967-71 Arthur M. Rudy 1971-74 Paul C. Dennis 1974-78 James G. Crouse 1978-98 Robert J. Alt 1998-2002 Joseph L. Fisona 2002-

Postmasters at Elkton, 1879-1978 (may be incomplete!)
Palmer C. Strickland as of 1879 H. H. Gilpin as of 1887 Joseph Wells as of 1893 F. R. Scott as of 1897 W. J. Smith as of 1901 John Mercer Terrell 1935-36 John Mercer Terrell 1936-63 George M. Boulden 1963-65 George M. Boulden 1965-78

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MD/ofc/elkton.html .  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]