The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Cumberland, Maryland

Mayors of Cumberland, 1816-2002 (may be incomplete!)
John Scott 1816-23 Samuel Magill 1823-24 Roger Perry 1824-35 John Gephart 1835-36 John Wright 1836-37 Gustavus Beall 1837-38 Frederick Deems 1838-39 Samuel Charles 1839-41 James Smith 1841-42 John Gephart 1842-43 Thomas Shriver 1843-49 Thomas F. White 1849-50 Thomas Shriver 1850-51 Daniel Saylor 1851-52 John Hayes 1852-53 F. B. Tower 1853-54 A. L. Withers 1854-55 William Wallace McKaig 1855-56 Joseph H. Tucker 1856-57 James W. Jones 1857-58 D. W. McCleary 1858-60 John Humbird 1860-61 C. M. Thruston 1861-62 Charles H. Ohr 1862-63 James Smith 1863-64 Charles H. Ohr 1864-65 George W. Harrison 1865-66 John Humbird 1866-69 Lloyd Lowe 1869-71 William Piatt 1871-72 John B. Widener 1872-73 W. A. Withers 1873-74 William R. McCulley 1874 John Humbird 1874-76 W. A. Withers 1876-77 William McMahon McKaig as of 1890 Warren C. White 1900-04 Clarence M. King 1904-05 William A. Cromwell 1905-06 Clarence M. King 1906-08 George A. Kean 1908-10 George A. Young 1910-14 Thomas W. Koon 1914-32 George Henderson 1932-34 George W. Legge 1934-36 Thomas W. Koon 1936-39 Harry Irvine 1939-42 Thomas F. Conlon 1942-44 Thomas S. Post 1944-52 Roy W. Eves 1952-58 J. Edwin Keech 1958-62 Earl D. Chaney 1962-66 Thomas F. Conlon, Jr. 1966-74 F. Perry Smith, Jr. 1974-78 Frank K. Nethken 1978-82 George M. Wychoff, Jr. 1982-90 Harry Stern 1990-92 Edward C. Athey 1992-2000 Lee N. Fiedler 2000-

Postmasters at Cumberland, 1816-1984 (may be incomplete!)
Samuel Smith as of 1816 H. J. Johnson as of 1879 A. Wilson as of 1887 John Schiller as of 1893 D. E. Kean as of 1897 J. H. Holzsher as of 1901 James C. Shriver 1935-46 Frank E. Wright 1946 William C. McDermott 1946-49 Thomas F. Conlon 1949-63 William B. Orndorff 1963-64 William B. Orndorff 1964-84

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MD/ofc/cumberland.html .  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]