The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Annapolis, Maryland

Mayors of Annapolis, 1708-2013 (may be incomplete!)
Amos Garrett 1708-20 Thomas Larkin 1720-21 Benjamin Tasker 1721-22 Vachel Denton 1722-26 Benjamin Tasker 1726-27 Vachel Denton 1727-45 William Rogers 1745-49 John Ross 1749-50 Benjamin Tasker 1750-53 Michael McNamara 1753-54 Benjamin Tasker 1754-55 John Brice 1755-56 Benjamin Tasker 1756-57 John Bullen 1757-58 John Ross 1758-59 George Steuart 1759-60 Michael McNamara 1760-61 Stephen Bordley 1761-62 John Brice 1762-63 George Steuart 1763-64 Daniel Dulany 1764-65 John Ross 1765-66 Walter Dulany 1766-67 Upton Scott 1767-68 Allen Quynn 1768-80 John Brice 1780-81 John Bullen 1781-82 James Brice 1782-83 Jeremiah T. Chase 1783-84 Nicholas Carroll 1784-85 Robert Couden 1785-86 Allen Quynn 1786-88 James Brice 1788-89 John Bullen 1789-90 Nicholas Carroll 1790-91 Robert Couden 1791-92 Allen Quynn 1792-93 John Bullen 1793-94 James Williams 1794-95 William Pinkney 1795-1800 John Davidson 1800-01 James Williams 1801-02 Allen Quynn 1802-03 Samuel Ridout 1803-04 John Johnson 1804-05 James Williams 1805-06 Samuel Ridout 1806-07 Burton Whetcroft 1807-08 John Kelly 1808-09 Burton Whetcroft 1809-10 John Johnson 1810-11 Nicholas Brewer 1811-12 Gideon White 1812-13 John Randall 1813-14 Nicholas Brewer 1814-15 John Randall 1815-16 Nicholas Brewer 1816-17 John Randall 1817-18 Nicholas Brewer 1818-19 Lewis Duvall 1819-23 James Boyle 1823-25 Richard Harwood 1825-28 Dennis Claude 1828-37 John Miller 1837-40 Alexander C. Magruder 1840-43 Richard Swann 1843-45 William Bryan 1845-46 Richard Swann 1846-48 Richard R. Goodwin 1848 Abram Claude 1848-51 Brice T. B. Worthington 1851-52 Richard R. Goodwin 1852-53 Dennis Claude 1853-54 Abram Claude 1854-55 Nicholas Brewer, Jr. 1855-56 Richard Swann 1856-58 Joseph Brown 1858-59 William Harwood 1859-60 John R. Magruder 1860-62 J. Wesley White 1862-63 John R. Magruder 1863-64 Solomon Phillips 1864-65 Richard R. Goodwin 1865-66 Richard Swann 1866-67 Abram Claude 1867-69 Augustus Gassaway 1869-70 John T. E. Hyde 1870-71 James Munroe 1871-75 Arthur W. Wells 1875-77 James H. Brown 1877-79 Thomas E. Martin 1879-83 Abram Claude 1883-89 James H. Brown 1889-93 John H. Thomas 1893-97 Richard Green 1897-99 Nevett Steele 1899 Edwin A. Seidewitz 1899-1901 Charles A. Dubois 1901-03 Samuel Jones 1903-05 John deP. Douw 1905-07 Gordon H. Claude 1907-09 James F. Strange 1909-19 John J. Levy 1919-21 Samuel Jones 1921-23 Charles W. Smith 1923-25 Allen Bowie Howard 1925-27 Charles W. Smith 1927-29 Walter E. Quenstedt 1929-35 Louis N. Phipps 1935-39 George W. Haley 1939-41 William U. McCready 1941-49 Roscoe C. Rowe 1949-52 Arthur Ellington 1952-61 Joseph H. Griscom, Sr. 1961-65 Roger W. Moyer 1965-73 Noah A. Hillman 1973 John C. Apostol 1973-81 Gustav J. Akerland 1981 John C. Chambers, Jr. 1981 Richard Lazer Hillman 1981-85 Dennis M. Callahan 1985-89 Alfred A. Hopkins 1989-97 Dean L. Johnson 1997-2001 Ellen O. Moyer 2001-09 Joshua J. Cohen 2009-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1923: Joseph M. Armstrong, defeated.

    Postmasters at Annapolis, 1779-1980 (may be incomplete!)
    Frederick Green 1779-90 Samuel Green 1790-1811 John Munroe 1811-17 James Munroe 1817-25 Grafton Munroe 1825-29 Jonas Green 1829-34 Richard J. Crabb 1834-42 George McNeir 1842-44 Martin F. Revell 1844-49 Edwin Boyle 1849-53 Augustus Gassaway 1853-61 Thomas Ireland 1861-69 Waldo O. Bigelow 1869-80 Grafton Monroe 1880-85 William T. Iglehart 1885-87 Richard Welsh 1887-90 Washington G. Tuck 1890-95 Abram Claude 1895-99 Washington G. Tuck 1899-1908 Arthur B. Carter 1908-09 Daniel Richard Randall 1909-14 Thomas J. Linthicum 1914-23 William L. Marcy 1923-24 William L. Marcy 1924-26 Joseph M. Armstrong 1926 Joseph M. Armstrong 1926-34 William A. Strohm 1934 William A. Strohm 1934-51 John F. Stevens 1951-52 John F. Stevens 1952-61 John L. Carlson 1962-80

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1908 Feb 5: Washington G. Tuck, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MD/ofc/annapolis.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]