The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Salem, Massachusetts

Mayors of Salem, 1836-2022 (may be incomplete!)
Leverett Saltonstall 1836-38 Stephen C. Phillips 1838-42 Stephen P. Webb 1842-45 Joseph S. Cabot 1845-49 Nathaniel Silsbee, Jr. 1849-51 David Pingree 1851-52 Charles W. Upham 1852-53 Asahel Huntington 1853-54 Joseph Andrew 1854-56 William S. Messervy 1856-58 Nathaniel Silsbee, Jr. 1858-60 Stephen P. Webb 1860-63 Stephen G. Wheatland 1863-64 Joseph B. F. Osgood 1865 David Roberts 1866-67 William Cogswell 1868-69 Nathaniel Brown 1870-71 Samuel Calley 1872 William Cogswell 1873-74 Henry Williams 1875-76 Henry K. Oliver 1877-80 Samuel Calley 1881-82 William M. Hill 1883-84 Arthur Huntington 1885 John M. Raymond 1886-89 Robert Rantoul 1890-93 James H. Turner 1894-97 David P. Waters 1898 James H. Turner 1899 David M. Little 1900 John F. Hurley 1901-02 Joseph N. Peterson 1903-05 Thomas G. Pinnock 1906-07 John F. Hurley 1908-09 Arthur P. Howard 1910 Rufus D. Adams 1911-12 John F. Hurley 1913-14 Mathias J. O'Keefe 1915 Henry P. Benson 1916-17 Denis J. Sullivan 1918-23 George J. Bates 1924-37 Edward A. Coffey 1938-47 Joseph B. Harrington 1948-49 Francis X. Collins 1950-69 Samuel E. Zoll 1970-73 Jean A. Levesque 1973-83 Anthony V. Salvo 1984-89 Neil J. Harrington 1990-97 Stanley J. Usovicz, Jr. 1998-2005 Kim Driscoll 2006-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1905 Dec 12: Thomas G. Pinnock (Rep), elected.
  • 1953 Nov 3: Francis X. Collins, elected unopposed.
  • 1997: Stanley J. Usovicz, Jr., elected.
  • 1999 Sep 14: Stanley J. Usovicz, Jr., nominated; John J. Donahue, nominated; James T. Ryan, defeated in primary; Mark E. Blair, defeated in primary; William R. Burns, Jr., defeated in primary; Michael P. Blatty, defeated in primary.
  • 1999 Nov 2: Stanley J. Usovicz, Jr., elected; John J. Donahue, defeated.
  • 2001 Sep 25: Stanley J. Usovicz, Jr., nominated; John J. Donahue, nominated; Michael P. Blatty, defeated in primary.
  • 2001 Nov 6: Stanley J. Usovicz, Jr., elected; John J. Donahue, defeated.
  • 2005 Sep 20: Kim Driscoll, nominated; Kevin R. Harvey, nominated; Stanley J. Usovicz, Jr., defeated in primary.
  • 2005 Nov 8: Kim Driscoll, elected; Kevin R. Harvey, defeated.

    Postmasters at Salem, 1853-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    George B. Loring 1853-58 W. F. Cass as of 1897 W. H. Merrill as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MA/ofc/salem.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]