The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of North Adams, Massachusetts

Mayors of North Adams, 1896-2011 (may be incomplete!)
Albert C. Houghton 1896-97 H. Torrey Cady 1898-99 Edward S. Wilkinson 1900-02 Valmore A. Whitaker 1902-03 Frank D. Stafford 1903-04 Marshall R. Ford 1905-06 Frank D. Stafford 1907-08 John H. Waterhouse 1909-10 Charles L. Frink 1911-12 Wallace E. Brown 1913-15 John W. Gale 1916 Ezra D. Whitaker 1917-20 Harvey A. Gallup 1921-22 William K. Greer 1923-24 William Johnson 1925-32 Archie J. Pratt 1933-34 William Johnson 1935-36 Francis J. O'Hara 1937-40 Faxon Bowen 1941-42 Cornelius E. O'Brien 1943-46 James A. Bowes 1947-51 Ernest H. Rosasco 1952-53 James M. Lilly 1954-55 Julius M. Calvi 1956-57 Joseph R. Bianco 1958-59 Louis J. Diamond 1960-61 Francis C. Florini 1962-67 James F. Cleary 1968-69 Joseph R. Bianco 1970-77 Richard C. Lamb 1978-83 John R. Taft, Jr. 1983 John Barrett III 1984- Richard Alcombright as of 2011

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1902 Oct 14: Edward S. Wilkinson, died in office.
  • 1918 Dec 3: Ezra D. Whitaker, elected.
  • 1983 Oct 31: Richard C. Lamb, resigned.
  • 1999 Nov 2: John Barrett III, elected; John A. Gwozdz, defeated.

    Postmasters at North Adams, 1813-1989 (may be incomplete!)
    Nathan Putnam 1813-15 William Waterman 1815-27 William E. Brayton 1827-49 Edward R. Tinker 1849-53 Henry Willmarth 1853 Abel Wetherbee 1853-61 Edwin Rogers 1861-79 John B. Tyler 1879-87 George L. Rice 1887-89 William F. Darby 1889-94 Henry S. Lyons 1894-98 William F. Darby 1898-1914 Michael O. Haggerty 1914-23 James T. Potter 1923 James T. Potter 1923-36 William W. Dooling 1936-49 Harry Pring 1949 Thomas A. Hosty 1949-50 Harold V. Gunnason 1950-60 Francis C. Florini 1960-61 Raymond L. Merrigan 1961-64 Raymond L. Merrigan 1964-89

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1949 May 26: William W. Dooling, died in office.
  • 1960 May 9: Harold V. Gunnason, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MA/ofc/northadams.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]