The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Newburyport, Massachusetts

Mayors of Newburyport, 1851-2011 (may be incomplete!)
Caleb Cushing 1851-52 Henry Johnson 1852-53 Moses Davenport 1854-55 William Cushing 1856-58 Albert Currier 1859-60 Moses Davenport 1861 George W. Jackman, Jr. 1861-62 Isaac H. Boardman 1863 George W. Jackman, Jr. 1864-65 William Graves 1866 Eben F. Stone 1867 Nathaniel Pierce 1868-69 Robert Couch 1870 Elbridge G. Kelley 1871-72 Warren Currier 1873-74 Benjamin F. Atkinson 1875-76 George W. Jackman, Jr. 1877 Jonathan Smith 1878 John J. Currier 1879-80 Robert Couch 1881 Benjamin Hale 1882 William A. Johnson 1883-84 Thomas C. Simpson 1885 Charles C. Dame 1886 J. Otis Winkley 1887 William H. Huse 1888 Albert C. Titcomb 1888-89 Elisha P. Dodge 1890-91 Orin J. Gurney 1892-95 Andrew R. Curtis 1896-97 George H. Plumer 1898 Thomas Huse 1899-1900 Moses Brown 1901-02 James F. Carens 1903-04 William F. Houston 1905-06 Albert F. Hunt 1907 Irvin Besse 1908 Albert F. Hunt 1909 Robert E. Burke 1910-12 Hiram H. Landford 1913-14 Clarence J. Fogg 1915-16 Walter B. Hopkinson 1917-18 David P. Page 1919-20 Andrew J. Gillis 1953 Henry Graf, Jr. 1954-55 Mary M. Carrier 1999 Lisa L. Mead 2000 John F. Moak as of 2007 Donna Holaday as of 2011

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1852 Jun 21: Caleb Cushing, resigned.
  • 1861 Feb 18: Moses Davenport, died in office.
  • 1888 Mar 28: William H. Huse, died in office.
  • 1905 Dec 12: William F. Houston (Municipal), elected.
  • 1953 Nov 3: Henry Graf, Jr., elected; Andrew J. Gillis, defeated.
  • 1999 Nov 2: Lisa L. Mead, elected; Mary M. Carrier, defeated.

    Postmasters at Newburyport, 1897-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    William C. Cuseck as of 1897 F. E. Smith as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MA/ofc/newburyport.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]