The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Lynn, Massachusetts

Mayors of Lynn, 1850-2011 (may be incomplete!)
George Hood 1850-52 Benjamin F. Mudge 1852-53 Daniel C. Baker 1853-54 Thomas P. Richardson 1854-55 Andrews Breed 1855-56 Ezra W. Mudge 1856-58 William F. Johnson 1858-59 Edward S. Davis 1859-61 Hiram N. Breed 1861-62 Peter M. Neal 1862-66 Roland G. Usher 1866-69 James N. Buffum 1869-70 Edwin Walden 1870-72 James N. Buffum 1872-73 Jacob M. Lewis 1873-77 Samuel M. Bubier 1877-79 George Plaisted Sanderson 1879-81 Henry B. Lovering 1881-83 William L. Baird 1883-85 John R. Baldwin 1885-86 George D. Hart 1886-87 George C. Higgins 1888 Asa T. Newhall 1889-91 E. Knowlton Fogg 1891-92 Elihu B. Hayes 1892-93 Charles E. Harwood 1894-95 Eugene A. Besson 1896 Walter L. Ramsdell 1897-98 William Shepherd 1899-1902 Henry W. Eastham 1903-05 Charles N. Barney 1906-07 Thomas F. Porter 1908-09 James E. Rich 1909-10 William P. Connery, Sr. 1911-12 George H. Newhall 1913-17 Walter H. Creamer 1918-21 Harland A. McPhetres 1922-25 Ralph S. Bauer 1926-30 J. Fred Manning 1930-39 Albert Cole 1940-43 Arthur J. Frawley 1943-45 Albert Cole 1946-47 Stuart A. Tarr 1948-51 Arthur J. Frawley 1952-55 Thomas P. Costin, Jr. 1956-61 M. Henry Wall 1961-65 Irving E. Kane 1966-69 J. Warren Cassidy 1970-72 Pasquale Caggiano 1972 Walter F. Meserve 1972 Antonio J. Marino 1972-73 David L. Phillips 1974-75 Antonio J. Marino 1976-85 Albert V. DiVirgilio 1986-91 Patrick J. McManus 1992-2001 Edward J. Clancy 2002-09 Judith Flanagan Kennedy 2010-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1905 Dec 12: Charles N. Barney (Rep), elected.
  • 1939 Nov 7: Albert Cole (Rep), elected; J. Fred Manning (Dem), defeated.
  • 1945: Albert Cole, elected.
  • 1953 Nov 3: Arthur J. Frawley, elected.
  • 1961 Jul 3: Thomas P. Costin, Jr., resigned.
  • 1963 Nov 5: M. Henry Wall, elected unopposed.
  • 1972 Apr 13: Pasquale Caggiano, died in office.
  • 1981: Edward J. Clancy, defeated.
  • 1985: Albert V. DiVirgilio, elected.
  • 1991: Patrick J. McManus, elected; Albert V. DiVirgilio, defeated.
  • 1999 Nov 2: Patrick J. McManus, elected; Joseph J. Downey, defeated.
  • 2001: Edward J. Clancy, elected.
  • 2005: Edward J. Clancy, elected.
  • 2009 Sep 15: Judith Flanagan Kennedy, nominated; Edward J. Clancy, nominated; David M. Rohnstock, defeated in primary.
  • 2009 Nov 3: Judith Flanagan Kennedy, elected; Edward J. Clancy, defeated.

    Postmasters at Lynn, 1796-1991 (may be incomplete!)
    James Robinson 1796-1803 Samuel Mullikin 1804-06 Elisha Downing 1806-08 Jonathan Bacheller 1808-29 Jeremiah C. Stickney 1829-39 Thomas G. Marsh 1839-41 Stephen Oliver 1841-42 Thomas B. Newhall 1842-43 Benjamin Mudge 1843-49 Abner Austin 1849-53 Jeremiah C. Stickney 1853-58 Leonard B. Usher 1858-61 George H. Chase 1861-69 John Batchelder 1869-77 John G. B. Adams 1877-85 William E. Parker 1885-89 Augustus J. Hoitt 1889-94 John D. Dennis 1894-98 E. Knowlton Fogg 1898-1900 Howard K. Sanderson 1900-05 William F. Craig 1905-13 Edmund S. Higgins 1913-22 Harlan S. Cummings 1922-34 Thomas A. Wilkinson 1934 Thomas A. Wilkinson 1934-61 Ralph F. Wilkinson 1961 Thomas P. Costin, Jr. 1961-62 Thomas P. Costin, Jr. 1962-91

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1900 Apr 21: E. Knowlton Fogg, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MA/ofc/lynn.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]