The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Lowell, Massachusetts

Mayors of Lowell, 1836-2011 (may be incomplete!)
Elisha Bartlett 1836-38 Luther Lawrence 1838-39 George W. Fifield as of 1892 Charles H. Slowey as of 1932-33 D. G. Archambault 1936-39 George T. Ashe 1940-42 Joseph J. Sweeney 1942-43 Henry Beaudry as of 1953 John Janas as of 1955 William F. Martin, Jr. as of 2007 Jim Milnazzo as of 2011

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1839 Apr 17: Luther Lawrence, died in office.
  • 1905 Dec 12: James B. Casey (Dem), elected.
  • 1931: Charles H. Slowey, elected.
  • 1939 Nov 7: George T. Ashe (Dem), elected; Thomas H. Braden (Rep), defeated.

    Postmasters at Lowell, 1826-1979 (may be incomplete!)
    Jonathan C. Morrill 1826-29 William Wyman 1829-33 Eliphalet Case 1833-41 Jacob Robbins 1841-45 Stephen S. Leavy 1845-49 Alfred Gilman 1849-53 Thomas P. Goodhue 1853 Fisher A. Hildreth 1853-61 John A. Goodwin 1861-74 Edward T. Rowell 1874-85 Albert A. Haggett 1885-90 Willis P. Burbank 1890-94 Gardner W. Pearson 1894-98 Albert G. Thompson 1898-1911 Joseph A. Legare 1911 Joseph A. Legare 1911-13 Robert J. Crowley 1913-15 John F. Meehan 1915-22 Xavier A. Delisle 1922 Xavier A. Delisle 1922-35 Charles H. Slowey 1935-56 Olan R. Horne 1956-57 James J. Gallagher 1957-58 James J. Gallagher 1958-66 Charles R. Santos 1967-68 Charles R. Santos 1968-79

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MA/ofc/lowell.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]