The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Lawrence, Massachusetts
including Merrimack
Mayors, Postmasters

Mayors of Lawrence, 1873-2011 (may be incomplete!)
John K. Tarbox as of 1873-74 Alexander B. Bruce as of 1886-87 Alvin E. Mack as of 1889 Charles G. Rutter as of 1894 Walter A. Griffin 1934-37 John J. Buckley as of 1953-55 Michael J. Sullivan as of 2004-07 William Lantigua as of 2011

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1889 Dec 3: John W. Crawford (Dem), elected; Alvin E. Mack (Rep), defeated.
  • 1893 Dec 5: Charles G. Rutter (Dem), elected; Brewster (Rep), defeated.
  • 1894 Dec 4: Charles G. Rutter (Dem), elected.

    Postmasters at Lawrence, 1847-1974 (may be incomplete!)
    George A. Waldo 1847-49 William Peirce 1849 Nathaniel Wilson 1849-53 Benjamin F. Watson 1853-61 George S. Merrill 1861-86 Patrick Murphy 1886-90 Lewis G. Holt 1890-94 John P. Sweeney 1894-98 Sidney H. Brigham 1898-1902 Byron Truell 1902-06 Louis S. Cox 1906-13 Michael F. Cronin 1913-22 James R. Tetler 1922-33 Charles A. Cronin 1933-34 Charles A. Cronin 1934-47 Daniel F. Cahill 1947-50 Daniel F. Cahill 1950-74

    (renamed Lawrence in 1847)

    Postmasters at Merrimack, 1846-47 (may be incomplete!)
    George A. Waldo 1846-47

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MA/ofc/lawrence.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]