The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Brockton, Massachusetts
including North Bridgewater
Mayors, Postmasters

Mayors of Brockton, 1888-2011 (may be incomplete!)
Albert R. Wade 1888-89 William L. Douglas 1890-91 Harry C. Howard as of 1911-12 Roger Keith 1921-22 C. Gerald Lucey as of 1953-55 John T. Yunits, Jr. as of 1999-2000 James E. Harrington as of 2007 Linda M. Balzotti 2010-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1889 Dec 3: William L. Douglas (Dem & Citizens), elected; Albert R. Wade (Rep), defeated.
  • 1893 Dec 5: J. J. Whipple (Rep), elected.
  • 1907: John S. Kent, elected.
  • 1911 Dec 5: Harry C. Howard, elected.
  • 1918 Dec 3: William L. Gleason, elected.
  • 1953 Nov 3: C. Gerald Lucey (Dem), elected; Paul Keith (Rep), defeated; George F. Rodenbush, defeated.
  • 1999 Nov 2: John T. Yunits, Jr., elected; Martha A. Crowell, defeated.
  • 2009: Linda M. Balzotti, elected.

    Postmasters at Brockton, 1874-1988 (may be incomplete!)
    Augustus T. Jones 1874-76 George H. Fullerton 1876-83 Joseph M. Hollywood 1883-96 William H. Jordan 1896-97 Joseph M. Hollywood 1897-1915 Edward Gilmore 1915-23 Lawrence T. Briggs 1923 Lawrence T. Briggs 1923-30 Oscar M. Packard 1930-31 Wilfred B. Littlefield 1931-33 Arthur A. Hendrick 1933-34 Arthur A. Hendrick 1934-51 Edward P. Neafsey 1951-52 John F. Condon 1952-59 Richard E. Samuelson 1959-60 Richard E. Samuelson 1960-88

    North Bridgewater
    (renamed Brockton in 1874)

    Postmasters at North Bridgewater, 1816-74 (may be incomplete!)
    Charles Packard 1816-28 Heman Packard 1828-29 Nathaniel Henry Cross 1829-39 Edward Southworth, Jr. 1839-53 Aaron B. Drake 1853-55 Abel W. Kingman 1855-61 Henry French 1861-73 Augustus T. Jones 1873-74

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MA/ofc/brockton.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]