The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Shreveport, Louisiana

Mayors of Shreveport, 1839-2005 (may be incomplete!)
John O. Sewall 1839-40 William Walton George 1840-41 Samuel W. Briggs 1841-42 William Walton George 1842-44 John N. Howell 1844-45 Joseph Clinton Beall 1845-46 Lawrence P. Crain 1846-47 Robert Nathanial Wood 1847-48 John M. Landrum 1848-49 Robert Nathanial Wood 1849 John Bryce 1849-50 Robert Cooke 1850-51 Joseph Clinton Beall 1851-54 John Wallace Jones 1854-58 Jonas Robeson 1858-59 John W. Pennall 1859-60 Jonas Robeson 1860-62 Joseph Clinton Beall 1862-64 Samuel Wells 1864 John L. Gooch 1864-65 Aleck Boarman 1865-67 Lewis S. Markham 1867 Martin Tally 1867-69 Jerome B. Gilmore 1869-71 Moses Hodge Crowell 1871-73 Samuel Levy 1873 Michael A. Walsh 1873-74 Samuel J. Ward 1874-75 Nicholas Wells Murphy 1875-78 Andrew Currie 1878-90 Edward B. Herndon 1890 Richard Tucker Vinson 1890-96 Reuben Neil McKellar 1896-1900 Benjamin Holzman 1900-02 Andrew Querbes 1902-06 Ernest Ralph Bernstein, Sr. 1906-08 Samuel Augustus Dickson 1908-10 John H. Eastham 1910-14 Samuel Augustus Dickson 1914-16 Robert Hodges Ward 1916 John McWilliams Ford 1916-22 Lee Emmett Thomas 1922-30 James G. Palmer 1930-32 George Washington Hardy 1932-34 Sam S. Caldwell 1934-46 Clyde E. Fant 1946-54 James C. Gardner 1954-58 Clyde E. Fant 1958-70 L. Calhoun Allen, Jr. 1970-78 William T. Hanna 1978-82 John Brennan Hussey 1982-90 Hazel Beard 1990-94 Bo Williams 1994-98 Keith Paul Hightower 1998-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1871: William Rabun Shivers (Dem), elected, but died before taking office.
  • 1873: Joseph Taylor (Dem), elected.
  • 1890: Andrew Currie, resigned.
  • 1954: James C. Gardner, elected.
  • 1958: James C. Gardner, defeated.

    Postmasters at Shreveport, 1838-1972 (may be incomplete!)
    Charles A. Sewall 1838-40 Seth Sheldon 1840-42 William Thatcher 1842-47 Robert W. Legrand 1847-49 John C. Barry 1849 William R. Douglass 1849-52 John S. Gooch 1852-53 Peter Rush 1853 Lewis E. Carter 1853-55 Henry Hunsicker 1855-61 T. G. Compton 1865 Joseph Howell 1865-67 Charles H. Thompson 1867 William Heffner 1867-69 Charles W. Keeting 1869-73 William McKenna 1873-86 James C. Soape 1886-90 Thornton E. Jacobs 1890-92 Pinckney B. Weaks 1892-94 Andrew Currie 1894-99 Leon M. Carter 1899-1904 Stephen F. Steere 1904-10 Allen C. Lea 1910-15 Frederick H. Gosman 1915-19 Nathan Ratcliff 1919-20 Nathan Ratcliff 1920-24 Charles W. Page 1924-26 Clem S. Clarke 1926-28 Clem S. Clarke 1928-30 Carey P. Duncan 1930-31 Carey P. Duncan 1931-37 Robert H. Nelson 1937-53 Arthur L. Layton 1953-55 Arthur L. Layton 1955-62 Virgil L. Dixon 1962-64 Virgil L. Dixon 1964-72

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/LA/ofc/shreveport.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]