The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Newport, Kentucky

Mayors of Newport, 1834-2002 (may be incomplete!)
Francis T. Helm 1834-38 John B. Lindsey 1838-39 Francis T. Helm 1839-45 John B. Lindsey 1845-49 Horatio T. Harris 1849-50 John N. Taliaferro 1850-51 Robert D. Hayman 1851-52 T. W. DeCoursey 1852-53 George R. Fearons 1853-55 Frederick A. Boyd 1855-56 George R. Fearons 1856-58 Edmund W. Hawkins, Sr. 1858-62 Robert B. McCracken 1862-66 C. P. Buchanan 1866-70 Richard H. Hayman 1870-74 Louis Constans 1874-75 Albert S. Berry 1876-77 William H. Harton 1878-85 James C. Wright 1886-87 M. V. Daly 1888-89 Albert S. Berry 1890-91 George H. Ahlering 1891-93 Paris C. Brown 1894-97 Edward Biltz 1897-1900 Robert W. Nelson 1900-04 August Helmbold 1904-08 Edward L. Krieger 1908-12 August Helmbold 1912-16 Andrew J. Livingston 1916-20 Joseph G. Hermann 1920-24 Andrew J. Livingston 1924-28 Fred L. McLane 1928-32 Fred C. Weber 1932-36 Joseph G. Hermann 1936-40 Leo R. Broering 1940-44 Oscar O. Hesch 1944-48 James E. Deckert 1948-52 Robert L. Sidell 1952-56 Alfred G. Maybury 1956-60 Ralph Mussman 1960-64 John J. Peluso 1964-68 John A. Schmitz 1968-72 Roland T. Vories 1972-76 John J. Peluso 1976-80 Irene Deaton 1980-84 Steven Goetz 1984-90 Tom Guidugli 1990-2002

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1955 Sep 24: Alfred G. Maybury, nominated; Clarence William Lehkamp, nominated; Larry Connett, defeated in primary; James E. Deckert, defeated in primary.
  • 1955 Nov 8: Alfred G. Maybury, elected; Clarence William Lehkamp, defeated.
  • 1959 Sep 19: Ralph Mussman, nominated; Lawrence Hehman, nominated; Robert A. Fischer, defeated in primary.
  • 1959 Nov 3: Ralph Mussman, elected; Lawrence Hehman, defeated.
  • 1963 Sep 21: John J. Peluso, nominated; Robert Allen, nominated; Roland T. Vories, defeated in primary; Charles T. Sarakatsannis, defeated in primary; J. Howard McGehey, defeated in primary; Tito Carinci, defeated in primary.
  • 1963 Nov 5: John J. Peluso, elected; Robert Allen, defeated.
  • 1967 Sep 23: John A. Schmitz, nominated; Roland T. Vories, nominated; Hargis Cole, defeated in primary; A. J. 'Tony' Warndorf, defeated in primary; Leonard M. Glasscock, defeated in primary.
  • 1967 Nov 7: John A. Schmitz, elected; Roland T. Vories, defeated.
  • 1971 Nov 2: Roland T. Vories, elected; John J. Peluso, defeated.
  • 1975 May 27: John J. Peluso, nominated; Charles T. Sarakatsannis, nominated; John A. Schmitz, defeated in primary.
  • 1975 Nov 4: John J. Peluso, elected; Charles T. Sarakatsannis, defeated.
  • 1983: Steven Goetz, elected; John J. Peluso, defeated.

    Postmasters at Newport, 1800-1971 (may be incomplete!)
    Daniel Mayo 1800-38 Francis T. Helm 1839-49 Louis Perry 1849-50 Hiram B. Clemons 1850-53 James M. Boyd 1853-56 John Q. A. Foster 1856-61 William Andrews 1861-66 William G. Shuly 1866 John J. Thomas 1866-67 William G. Terrill 1867-69 Benjamin L. Winans 1869-77 Mary L. Ross 1877-86 Philip B. Spence 1886-89 Anne W. Jenks 1889-93 Justus J. Hetsch 1893-97 John H. Meyer 1897-1909 George Wilhelm 1909-13 Jacob Roll 1913-21 Alfred Gowling 1922-24 John H. Meyer 1924-25 John H. Meyer 1925-33 William A. Eimer 1933-34 William A. Eimer 1934-48 Claude G. Bonar 1948-49 Claude G. Bonar 1949-63 James O. Clark 1963-65 James O. Clark 1965-71

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1838 Dec 25: Daniel Mayo, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/KY/ofc/newport.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]