The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Louisville, Kentucky

Mayors of Louisville, 1828-2012 (may be incomplete!)
John C. Bucklin 1828-34 John Joyes 1834-36 William A. Cocke 1836-37 Frederick A. Kaye 1837-41 David L. Beatty 1841-44 Frederick A. Kaye 1844-47 William R. Vance 1847-50 John M. Delph 1850-52 James S. Speed 1852-55 John Barbee 1855-57 William S. Pilcher 1857-58 Thomas W. Riley 1858-59 Thomas H. Crawford 1859-61 John M. Delph 1861-63 William Kaye 1863-65 Philip Tomppert 1865 James S. Lithgow 1865-67 Philip Tomppert 1867-69 Joseph H. Bunce 1869-70 John G. Baxter 1870-73 Charles D. Jacob 1873-79 John G. Baxter 1879-81 Charles D. Jacob 1882-84 P. Booker Reed 1885-87 Charles D. Jacob 1888-90 William L. Lyons 1890 Henry S. Tyler 1891-96 Robert Emmet King 1896 George D. Todd 1896-97 Charles P. Weaver 1897-1901 Charles F. Grainger 1901-05 Paul C. Barth 1905-07 Robert Worth Bingham 1907 James F. Grinstead 1907-09 William O. Head 1909-13 John H. Buschemeyer 1913-17 George Weissinger Smith 1917-21 Huston Quin 1921-25 Arthur A. Will 1925-27 Joseph T. O'Neal 1927 William B. Harrison 1927-33 Neville Miller 1933-37 Joseph D. Scholtz 1937-41 Wilson W. Wyatt 1941-45 E. Leland Taylor 1945-48 Charles P. Farnsley 1948-53 Andrew Broaddus 1953-57 Bruce Hoblitzell 1957-61 William O. Cowger 1961-65 Kenneth A. Schmied 1965-69 Frank W. Burke 1969-73 Harvey I. Sloane 1973-77 William B. Stansbury 1977-81 Harvey I. Sloane 1982-85 Jerry E. Abramson 1986-98 David L. Armstrong 1999-2003 Jerry E. Abramson 2003-11 Greg Fischer 2011-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1858 Aug 14: William S. Pilcher, died in office.
  • 1863: Thomas H. Crawford (Union), defeated.
  • 1867 Feb 14: James S. Lithgow, resigned.
  • 1875: John G. Baxter (Dem), defeated.
  • 1896 Jan 14: Henry S. Tyler, died in office.
  • 1905: Joseph T. O'Neal, defeated.
  • 1927 Nov 7: Joseph T. O'Neal (Dem), defeated.
  • 1948: Thomas Graham, defeated.
  • 1953 Nov 3: Andrew Broaddus (Dem), elected.
  • 1957 Nov 5: Bruce Hoblitzell (Dem), elected.
  • 1965: Kenneth A. Schmied (Rep), elected; Marlin Volz (Dem), defeated.
  • 1969: Romano L. Mazzoli (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1969: Frank W. Burke (Dem), elected; John Porter Sawyer (Rep), defeated.
  • 1973: Harvey I. Sloane (Dem), elected; C. J. Hyde (Rep), defeated.
  • 1981: Harvey I. Sloane, elected.
  • 1993 Nov 2: Jerry E. Abramson (Dem), elected; Tommy Klein (Rep), defeated.
  • 2002 Nov 5: Jerry E. Abramson (Dem), elected; Jack Early (Rep), defeated; Donna Walker Mancini (Libertarian), defeated; Bryan Thomas Bunch (Ind), defeated.
  • 2006 Nov 7: Jerry E. Abramson (Dem), elected; Kelly Downard (Rep), defeated; Ed Springston (Ind), defeated.
  • 2010 May 18: Greg Fischer (Dem), nominated; David W. Tandy (Dem), defeated in primary; Jim King (Dem), defeated in primary; Tyler N. Allen (Dem), defeated in primary; Shannon White (Dem), defeated in primary; Lisa Moxley (Dem), defeated in primary; Connie Marshall (Dem), defeated in primary; Burrel Charles Farnsley (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 2010 May 18: Hal Heiner (Rep), nominated; Chris Thieneman (Rep), defeated in primary; Jonathan Robertson (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 2010 Nov 2: Greg Fischer (Dem), elected; Hal Heiner (Rep), defeated; Nimbus Couzin (Ind), defeated; Jerry T. Mills (Ind), defeated.

    Postmasters at Louisville, 1887-1972 (may be incomplete!)
    Mrs. V. C. Thompson as of 1887-89 T. H. Baker as of 1901 William E. Robinson 1931-32 George C. Cross 1932-34 J. Elliott Riddell 1934-35 J. Elliott Riddell 1935-47 Joseph D. Scholtz 1947 Joseph D. Scholtz 1947-60 Jerome S. Wilson 1960-61 William B. Goodknight 1961-62 Bremer A. Ehrler 1962-63 Bremer A. Ehrler 1963-72

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/KY/ofc/louisville.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]