The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Henderson, Kentucky

Mayors of Henderson, 1854-2004 (may be incomplete!)
W. B. Vandrandt 1854 M. S. Hancock 1854-59 E. G. Hall 1860-62 D. Banks 1862-65 P. B. Matthews 1866-68 E. L. Starling 1868-74 Jacob Held 1874-75 John C. Atkinson 1875-79 F. M. English 1879-81 Jac Peter 1881-83 Charles C. Ball 1883-87 Phelps Sassen as of 1888-89 Charles C. Ball 1890-93 J. W. Moore 1893 John C. Atkinson 1893-95 J. B. Johnston 1895 A. J. Worsham 1895-97 W. I. Thompson 1897-1901 J. H. Powell 1901-05 Sam Harris 1905-09 W. I. Thompson 1909-13 J. W. Johnson 1913-17 James B. Johnson 1917-21 Clay Hall 1922 Marvin D. Eblen 1926-30 James B. Johnson 1926 William Barret 1930-34 Lee L. Hurley 1934-38 Robert B. Posey 1938-42 J. Alvis Clore 1942-46 Robert B. Posey 1946-50 Otis A. Benton 1950-54 Hecht S. Lackey 1954-62 Robert B. Posey 1962-66 Maurice Galloway 1966-70 William L. Newman 1970-77 Henry G. Lackey 1999-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1893: Charles C. Ball, died in office.
  • 1895 May 21: John C. Atkinson, resigned.

    Postmasters at Henderson, 1887-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    R. E. Cook as of 1887 R. Henderson as of 1889 A. J. Worsham as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/KY/ofc/henderson.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]