The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Dayton, Kentucky

Mayors of Dayton, 1950-2021 (may be incomplete!)
Walter G. Pilgrim as of 1950-57 Carl A. Wenderoth as of 1958-61 Ted Dupont, Jr. 1962-65 Marshall Dodd 1965-68 Lou Brueggen 1968-70 Paul C. Kroth, Sr. 1970-74 Miles P. Vaught 1974-78 Gilbert H. Lynn 1978-89 Carol Creekmore Lynn 1990-91 Bobby E. Crittendon 1991-2000 Ronald J. Gunning 2000-02 Kenneth E. Rankle 2003-14 Virgil L. Boruske 2015-18 Ben Baker 2019-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1953 Nov 3: Walter G. Pilgrim (Dem), elected; Carl A. Wenderoth (Rep), defeated; Albert R. Palm, Sr. (Ind), defeated.
  • 1957 Nov 5: Carl A. Wenderoth (Rep), elected; Walter G. Pilgrim (Dem), defeated.
  • 1961 May 23: Ted Dupont, Jr. (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1961 May 23: Carl A. Wenderoth (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 1961 Nov 7: Ted Dupont, Jr. (Dem), elected; Carl A. Wenderoth (Rep), defeated.
  • 1965 Jan 19: Ted Dupont, Jr., resigned.
  • 1965 Nov 2: Marshall Dodd, elected.
  • 1969 May 27: Lou Brueggen (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1969 May 27: Paul C. Kroth, Sr. (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 1969 Nov 4: Paul C. Kroth, Sr. (Rep), elected; Lou Brueggen (Dem), defeated.
  • 1973 May 29: Miles P. Vaught (Dem), nominated; James W. Rogers (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1973 Nov 6: Miles P. Vaught (Dem), elected; Paul C. Kroth, Sr. (Rep), defeated.
  • 1991 Feb 5: Carol Creekmore Lynn, resigned; Bobby E. Crittendon, appointed.
  • 2000 Dec 5: Bobby E. Crittendon, removed.
  • 2000 Dec 28: Ronald J. Gunning, appointed.
  • 2002 Nov 5: Kenneth E. Rankle, elected; Ronald J. Gunning, defeated.
  • 2014 Nov 4: Virgil L. Boruske, elected; Kenneth E. Rankle, defeated.
  • 2018 Nov 6: Ben Baker, elected; Virgil L. Boruske, defeated.

    Postmasters at Dayton, 1887-93 (may be incomplete!)
    A. Rand as of 1887 William Maltz as of 1889 R. B. Moore as of 1893

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/KY/ofc/dayton.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]