The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Ashland, Kentucky

Mayors of Ashland, 1876-1972 (may be incomplete!)
H. B. Brodess 1876-81 John Means 1881-82 William Wirt Culbertson 1882-83 W. H. H. Eba 1883 Thomas Russell 1883-86 W. W. Patterson 1886-89 Patrick Moriarty, Jr. 1889 David A. Fisher 1889-92 J. C. Whitten 1892-93 Thomas S. Newman 1894-97 William A. Ginn 1897-1905 Joseph Oscar Matthewson 1906-10 Albert H. Moore 1910-13 J. M. McCleary 1913 William A. Ginn 1913-14 W. M. Salisbury 1914-17 H. R. Dysard 1917-21 W. M. Salisbury 1921-25 William M. Nicholson 1925 William B. Whitt 1926 Ernest E. Ramey 1926-27 Charles F. Weaver 1927 W. C. Frailie 1928-31 Edgar B. Hager 1932-35 Will C. Simpson 1936-39 Henry Shanklin 1940-43 Clyde Levi 1944-47 Will C. Simpson 1948-51 David Aronberg 1952-55 Wilburn Caskey 1956-59 David Aronberg 1960-64 Wilburn Caskey 1964-68 Charles H. Gartrell 1968-72

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1881 Oct 20: H. B. Brodess, died in office.
  • 1913 Sep 26: Albert H. Moore, died in office.
  • 1926 Dec 19: William B. Whitt, died in office.
  • 1935 Dec 19: Edgar B. Hager, died in office.

    Postmasters at Ashland, 1887-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Robert W. Lampton as of 1887 James S. Ogden as of 1889 Thomas Bogges as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/KY/ofc/ashland.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]