The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Winfield, Kansas

Mayors of Winfield, 1873-1996 (may be incomplete!)
W. H. H. Maris 1873 Samuel C. Smith 1874 Daniel Azro Millington 1875-76 R. L. 'Dick' Walker 1877 John B. Lynn 1878-80 M. G. Troup 1881-82 George Emerson 1883-84 William George Graham 1885-86 William P. Hackney 1887-88 Penrose Hills Albright 1889-90 William George Graham 1891 Henry C. Loomis 1896-98 Penrose Hills Albright 1899-1900 Harry Aaron Caton 1901-02 William Orange Johnson 1903-04 James Colie Page 1905-06 Hiram Emory Silliman 1907 Charles M. Wallace 1908-10 George Colhurst 1911-12 Herbert A. McGregor 1913-16 Albert Lay Noble 1917-18 George W. Sloan 1919-20 Howard Lincoln Snyder 1921 William Tracy Irvin 1922 Joshua N. Wallace 1923 William Tracy Irvin 1924 Leighton Price Ravenscroft 1925 George Melville Backus 1926 Ray C. Stuber 1927 Leighton Price Ravenscroft 1928 Ray C. Stuber 1929 Phillip John George Frankenfeld 1930 J. Oscar Gafney 1931 Ray C. Stuber 1932 Phillip John George Frankenfeld 1933 Charles Clifford Hawke 1934 Edgar O. Kyger 1935 Harry O. Janicke 1936 Charles Clifford Hawke 1937 Leighton Price Ravenscroft 1938 Wade R. Coffey 1939 Leighton Price Ravenscroft 1940 Frank Edward Jarvis 1941 Leighton Price Ravenscroft 1942 Wade R. Coffey 1943 Leighton Price Ravenscroft 1944 Ralph Taylor Stuber 1945 James Henry Albright 1946 Clarence Charles Higginbottom 1947 Ernest W. Yount 1948 Ralph Taylor Stuber 1949 W. W. Keith 1950 Joe R. Everly 1951 W. W. Keith 1952 Ernest W. Yount 1953 W. W. Keith 1954 Joe R. Everly 1955 Walter E. Sheneman 1956 Frank William Higginbottom 1957-58 James A. Welfelt 1959 V. William McKnab 1960 Anthony L. Snyder 1961 Andrew Sowyer 1962 Jack S. Welfelt 1963 George Robert McNeish 1964 Andrew Sowyer 1965 George Robert McNeish 1966 Andrew Sowyer 1967 Ray L. Taylor 1968 Cecil R. Coffey 1969 Raymond E. King 1970 Homer Alvin Hetherington 1971 Milton T. Nida 1972 Cecil R. Coffey 1973 Homer Alvin Hetherington 1974 Milton T. Nida 1975 Dan E. Freeman 1976 William A. Archer 1977 Newton Richardson 1978 Edwin D. Fisher 1979 Raymond E. King 1980 Sterling V. Albertson 1981 Lucien Barbour 1982 Robert E. Duncan 1983 Bill Dexter 1984 Lucien Barbour 1985 Bill Dexter 1986 Robert E. Duncan 1987 Max B. Handlin 1988 Judy Showalter 1989 Max B. Handlin 1990 Steve McSpadden 1991 Judy Showalter 1992 Philip Jarvis 1993 Max B. Handlin 1994 Judy Showalter 1995 Max B. Handlin 1996

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1949 Jun 3: Ralph Taylor Stuber, died in office.

    Postmasters at Winfield, 1883-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    D. A. Willington as of 1883 G. C. Rembaugh as of 1887 E. P. Greer as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/KS/ofc/winfield.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]