The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Wichita, Kansas

Mayors of Wichita, 1871-2002 (may be incomplete!)
Edwin B. Allen 1871-72 James G. Hope 1873-74 George E. Harris 1875 James G. Hope 1876-77 William Greiffenstein 1878 Sol H. Kohn 1879 William Greiffenstein 1879-84 B. W. Aldrich 1885-86 Joseph P. Allen 1887-88 George W. Clement 1889-90 John B. Carey 1891-92 Lindley M. Cox 1893-96 Finlay Ross 1897-1900 Ben F. McLean 1901-04 Finlay Ross 1905-06 J. H. Graham 1907-08 C. L. Davidson 1909-10 J. H. Graham 1911 Walter A. Minnick 1911-12 William J. Babb 1913-14 O. H. Bentley 1915-16 L. W. Clapp 1917-19 John L. Powell 1919-20 Wallace C. Kemp 1921-22 George H. Hamilton 1922 W. C. Coleman 1922-23 Ben F. McLean 1923-24 Frank L. Dunn 1924-25 Ben F. Copley 1925-26 Frank Nihswonger 1926-27 A. J. Coombs 1927-28 Frank L. Dunn 1928-29 Charles S. Lawrence 1929-30 Herman A. Hill 1930-31 Frank Nihswonger 1931-32 H. D. Cottman 1932-33 Charles S. Lawrence 1933-34 Schuyler Crawford 1934-35 Frank Nihswonger 1935-36 Robert E. Israel 1936-37 T. Walker Weaver 1937-38 Elmer R. Corn 1938-39 Frank W. Coleman 1939-40 Elmer R. Corn 1940-41 John I. Dotson 1941-42 O. F. Sullivan 1942-43 E. C. Moriarty 1943-44 Herman W. Beuttel 1944-45 Phil H. Manning 1945-46 Frank W. Coleman 1946-47 C. S. Ritchie 1947-48 L. A. Donnell 1948-49 William C. Salome 1949-50 Earl K. Duke 1950-51 Floyd T. Amsden 1951-52 Russell Jump 1952-53 Walter Keeler 1953-54 William C. Salome 1954 L. A. Donnell 1954-55 Claude M. DeVorss 1955-56 H. D. Lester 1956 A. E. Howse 1956-57 E. E. Baird 1957-58 James L. Gardner 1958-59 Justus H. Fugate 1959-60 Levi B. Rymph 1960-61 Herbert P. Lindsley 1961-62 Carl A. Bell 1962-63 Gerald F. Byrd 1963-64 Vincent L. Bogart 1964-65 William D. Tarrant 1965-66 John S. Stevens 1966-67 Clarence E. Vollmer 1967-68 William D. Anderson 1968-69 Donald K. Enoch 1969-70 A. Price Woodard, Jr. 1970-71 Jack H. Greene 1971-72 Glenn J. Shanahan 1972-73 James M. Donnell 1973-74 Gary L. Porter 1974-75 Connie A. Peters 1975-76 James M. Donnell 1976-77 A. F. 'Tony' Casado 1977-78 Connie A. Peters 1978-79 A. F. 'Tony' Casado 1979-80 Robert G. Knight 1980-81 Robert C. Brown 1981-82 Albert J. Kirk 1982 Robert G. Knight as of 1984-85 A. F. 'Tony' Casado 1986-87 Robert G. Knight as of 1987-88 Robert G. Knight 1995-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1879 Sep 4: Sol H. Kohn, resigned.
  • 1903 Apr 7: Ben F. McLean (Rep), elected.
  • 1919 Oct 3: L. W. Clapp, resigned; John L. Powell, appointed.
  • 1922 Aug 22: George H. Hamilton, resigned; W. C. Coleman, appointed.
  • 1924 Feb 4: Ben F. McLean, resigned; Frank L. Dunn, appointed.
  • 1954 Dec 21: William C. Salome, resigned.
  • 1954 Dec 22: L. A. Donnell, appointed.
  • 1956 Nov 13: H. D. Lester, resigned.
  • 1995: Robert G. Knight, elected.
  • 1999: Robert G. Knight, elected.

    Postmasters at Wichita, 1869-1970 (may be incomplete!)
    Milo B. Kellogg 1869-70 Darius S. Munger 1870 William B. Hutchinson 1870-71 Josiah T. Holmes 1871-73 Robert L. West 1873-74 Marshall M. Murdock 1874-86 Frank B. Smith 1886-90 Edward B. Jewett 1890-94 Thomas G. Fitch 1894-98 Marshall M. Murdock 1898-1908 William C. Edwards 1908-13 John H. Shields 1913-16 James F. McCoy 1916 Joseph B. Riddle 1916-21 Stewart M. Young 1921-30 Bruce Griffith 1930-34 Joseph B. Riddle 1934-35 Joseph B. Riddle 1935-43 C. M. FitzWilliam 1943-45 C. M. FitzWilliam 1945-57 Ernest C. Balay 1957-58 Ernest C. Balay 1958-70

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/KS/ofc/wichita.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]