The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Topeka, Kansas

Mayors of Topeka, 1858-2001 (may be incomplete!)
Loring Farnsworth 1858-59 Cyrus K. Holliday 1859-60 Hiram W. Farnsworth 1860 Harris F. Otis 1860-61 Noah W. Cox 1862-63 Joseph F. Cummings 1863-64 Samuel H. Fletcher 1864-65 William Wallace Ross 1865-66 Ross Burns 1866-67 Cyrus K. Holliday 1867-68 Orin T. Welch 1868-69 Cyrus K. Holliday 1869-70 J. B. McAfee 1870-71 Orin T. Welch 1871-72 Henry Hartling 1873-75 Thomas J. Anderson 1875-77 M. H. Case 1877-81 Joseph C. Wilson 1881-83 Bradford Miller 1883-85 Rosswell L. Cofran 1885-87 D. C. Metaker 1887-89 Rosswell L. Cofran 1889-93 E. C. Jones 1893 T. W. Harrison 1893-95 Charles A. Fellows 1895-97 Charles J. Drew 1897-99 J. W. F. Hughes 1899-1901 Albert Parker 1901-03 William S. Bergundthal 1903-05 W. H. Davis 1905-07 William Green 1907-10 Julius B. Willard 1910-13 Rosswell L. Cofran 1913-15 Jay E. House 1915-19 Herbert J. Corwine 1919-23 Earl Akers 1923-25 James E. Thomas 1925-27 William O. Rigby 1927-31 Omar B. Ketchum 1931-35 Herbert G. Barrett 1935-39 John F. Scott 1939-41 Frank J. Warren 1941-51 W. Kenneth Wilke 1951-53 George C. Schnellbacher 1953-56 Joan D. Wagnon 1997-2001

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1903 Apr 7: William S. Bergundthal (Rep), elected.
  • 1993: Fred Phelps, defeated.
  • 1997: Fred Phelps, defeated.

    Postmasters at Topeka, 1855-1982 (may be incomplete!)
    Fry W. Giles 1855-57 Edward C. K. Garvey 1857-58 Charles C. Kellam 1858-61 Samuel H. Fletcher 1861-69 Hiram W. Farnsworth 1869-73 Henry King 1873-81 Thomas J. Anderson 1881-85 John Mileham 1885-89 James L. King 1889-93 Frank S. Thomas 1893 Andrew J. Arnold 1893-98 John Guthrie 1898-1906 Alpheus K. Rodgers 1906-14 William O. Rigby 1914-22 Charles H. Sessions 1922-26 Robert C. Caldwell 1926 Robert C. Caldwell 1926-34 John E. Barrett 1934-35 John E. Barrett 1935-42 J. Glenn Logan 1942-43 J. Glenn Logan 1943-61 Robert W. Domme 1961-62 Robert W. Domme 1962-82

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/KS/ofc/topeka.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]