The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Manhattan, Kansas

Mayors of Manhattan, 1937-2004 (may be incomplete!)
Harold Westgate as of 1937 Z. R. Hook 1951-52 Richard D. Rogers 1952-53 Harold Howe 1953-54 Ray P. Martin 1954-55 N. D. Harwood 1955-56 Charles Arthur 1956-57 Ray H. Pollom 1957-58 L. E. Conrad 1958-59 Ray P. Martin 1959-60 Cecil D. Hunter 1960-61 Lowell E. Jack 1961-62 Emil C. Fischer 1962-63 Forest D. Campbell 1963-64 Richard D. Rogers 1964-65 Mrs. William C. Tremmel 1965-66 Holly C. Fryer 1966-67 John F. Stites 1967-68 A. W. 'Art' Torluemke 1968-69 Barbara C. Yeo 1969-70 William O. Rehschuh 1970-71 Robert D. Linder 1971-72 Murt Hanks 1972-73 James N. Akin 1973-74 T. Russell Reitz 1974-75 Murt Hanks 1975-76 Dean Coughenour 1976-77 T. Russell Reitz 1977-78 Robert D. Linder 1978-79 Terrance L. Glasscock 1979-80 Edward F. Horne 1980-81 T. Russell Reitz 1981-82 Eugene A. Klingler 1982-83 Wanda L. Fateley 1983-84 David J. Fiser 1984-85 Suzanne Lindamood 1985-86 J. Eric Mann 1986-87 Eugene A. Klingler 1987-88 David J. Fiser 1988-89 Kent Glasscock 1989-90 Richard Hayter 1990-91 Eugene A. Klingler 1991-92 Richard Seidler 1992-93 Roger E. Maughmer 1993-94 Helen G. Cooper 1994-95 Edith L. Stunkel 1995-96 Sydney Carlin 1996-97 Bruce Snead 1997-98 Steve Hall 1998-99 Roger Reitz 1999-2000 Karen McCulloh 2000-01 Bruce Snead 2001-02 Ed Klimek 2002-03 Mark Taussig 2003-04 Brad Everett 2004-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1946 Apr 2: Ross Busenbark, elected; Charles Ballinger, defeated.

    Postmasters at Manhattan, 1856-1975 (may be incomplete!)
    John Pipher 1856-59 Joseph D. Petterson 1859-60 Scott Newell 1860-62 John W. Pipher 1862-67 William Booth 1867-69 Josiah H. Pillsbury 1869-79 Annie M. Pillsbury 1879-84 Albert A. Stewart 1884-86 John Q. A. Shelden 1886-90 Harlan P. Dow 1890-94 Jefferson J. Davis 1894-97 John H. Winnie 1897-1901 Delmar E. Deputy 1901-14 John M. Winter 1914-18 Henry Otto 1918-20 Frederick D. Lamb 1920-24 George J. Frank 1924-36 Herman J. Wylli 1936 Walter E. Moore 1936-44 Will R. West 1944-50 Will R. West 1950-57 Dale L. Duncan 1957-58 Dale L. Duncan 1958-75

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/KS/ofc/manhattan.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]