The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Junction City, Kansas

Mayors of Junction City, 1859-1956 (may be incomplete!)
R. C. Whitney 1859-61 Daniel Mitchell 1861-62 John F. Schmidt 1862-63 Luther Hall 1863-64 W. K. Bartlett 1864-65 Rubin Emick 1865-66 P. Z. Taylor 1866-67 John K. Wright 1867 C. H. Hindman 1867-68 R. S. Miller 1868-70 R. O. Rizer 1870-72 John L. Noble 1872-73 A. C. Stickney 1873-74 A. W. Callen 1874-75 Martin Mullins 1875-76 A. C. Stickney 1876-77 George W. McKnight 1877-78 Martin Mullins 1878-79 R. O. Rizer 1879-81 W. S. Blakely 1881-83 George W. Martin 1883-85 John K. Wright 1885-87 Martin Mullins 1887-89 Charles P. Fogelstrom 1889-94 H. U. Pratt 1894 C. K. Raber 1894-97 P. Daugherty 1897-99 J. V. Humphrey 1899-1901 W. H. Thompson 1901-05 F. W. O'Donnell 1905-07 W. F. Muenzenmayer 1907-11 Thomas Dever 1911-12 C. A. Mohn as of 1952-56

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1861 Dec 21: Daniel Mitchell, elected.
  • 1862 Jun 15: John F. Schmidt, elected.
  • 1863 Jan 13: Luther Hall, elected.
  • 1863 Jun 22: Luther Hall, elected.
  • 1864 Jun 20: W. K. Bartlett, elected.
  • 1865 Jun 10: Rubin Emick, elected.
  • 1866 Jun 8: P. Z. Taylor, elected.
  • 1867 Jan 29: John K. Wright, elected.
  • 1867 Apr 1: C. H. Hindman, elected.
  • 1868 Apr 6: R. S. Miller, elected.
  • 1869 Apr 5: R. O. Rizer (Rep), candidate in inconclusive election; R. S. Miller (People's), candidate in inconclusive election.
  • 1870 Apr 4: R. O. Rizer (Rep), elected.
  • 1871 Apr 3: R. O. Rizer, elected.
  • 1872 Apr 2: John L. Noble, elected.
  • 1873 Apr 1: A. C. Stickney, elected.
  • 1874 Apr 7: A. W. Callen, elected.
  • 1875 Apr 6: Martin Mullins, elected.
  • 1876 Apr 4: A. C. Stickney, elected.
  • 1877 Apr 3: George W. McKnight, elected.
  • 1878 Apr 2: Martin Mullins, elected.
  • 1879 Apr 2: R. O. Rizer, elected.
  • 1881 Apr 5: W. S. Blakely, elected.
  • 1883 Apr 3: George W. Martin, elected.
  • 1885 Apr 7: John K. Wright, elected.
  • 1887 Apr 5: Martin Mullins, elected; Charles P. Fogelstrom, defeated.
  • 1889 Apr 2: Charles P. Fogelstrom (Citizens), elected; G. F. Little, defeated.
  • 1891 Apr 7: Charles P. Fogelstrom, elected; C. B. Stebbins, defeated.
  • 1893 Apr 4: Charles P. Fogelstrom, elected; G. C. Moses, defeated.
  • 1894 Jan 26: Charles P. Fogelstrom, resigned.
  • 1894 Apr 3: C. K. Raber, elected; R. S. True, defeated.
  • 1895 Apr 2: C. K. Raber, elected; H. G. Behrend, defeated.
  • 1897 Apr 6: P. Daugherty (Liberal), elected; Thomas Dever (Rep), defeated.
  • 1899 Apr 4: J. V. Humphrey, elected.
  • 1901 Apr 2: W. H. Thompson, elected.
  • 1903 Apr 7: W. H. Thompson (Liberal), elected; A. Ballinger (Loyalty), defeated.
  • 1905 Apr 4: F. W. O'Donnell, elected.
  • 1907 Apr 2: W. F. Muenzenmayer, elected.
  • 1909 Apr 6: W. F. Muenzenmayer, elected.
  • 1911 Apr 4: Thomas Dever, elected.

    Postmasters at Junction City, 1864-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    George W. Martin 1864-65 F. Patterson as of 1883 R. E. Lawrenson as of 1887 W. H. Mackey as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/KS/ofc/junctioncity.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]