The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Coffeyville, Kansas

Mayors of Coffeyville, 1872-2008 (may be incomplete!)
A. B. Clark 1872 George J. Tallman 1873 T. B. Eldridge 1874 William C. Masten 1875-76 George W. Selby 1877 C. S. Brown 1878 J. M. Heddens 1879 C. M. Heatherington 1880 Daniel Wills 1881 C. W. Munn 1882 J. Barricklaw 1883 A. H. Boothby 1884 Thomas Scurr, Jr. 1885 Thomas G. Ayers 1886 J. H. Wilcox 1887 A. B. Powell 1888 G. I. Barndollar 1889-90 H. M. Stansbury 1891-92 A. P. Boswell 1893-94 J. H. Wilcox 1895-97 Watt Davis 1897-98 F. C. Frazier 1899-1902 R. E. Vaughn 1903-05 J. H. Wilcox 1906-07 Fred B. Skinner 1908 E. C. Rice 1909 George Coverdale 1910 E. C. Rice 1911-12 Andy Curry 1913-15 Elmer Joyce 1915-16 George Coverdale 1917-18 H. H. Deichler 1919-20 George Snelling 1921 Frank McClellan 1921-24 Elmer Joyce 1925-26 Harry Lang 1927-30 George W. Eckhardt 1931-32 R. Y. Kennedy 1933 John D. Byers 1934-47 Gus A. Erickson 1948 J. B. McGue 1949 Gus A. Erickson 1950-53 Denver D. Hargis 1953-58 Norton Walters 1958-59 Fred L. Hedges 1959-63 James O. Taylor 1963-64 John H. Jordan 1964 Gay Brokaw 1964-65 Charles Clough 1965-66 Louis L. Paulsen 1966-67 Ward Witherspoon 1967-68 Dean Bauer 1968-69 Ward Witherspoon 1969-71 Roy Patterson 1971-74 W. R. Ketterman 1974-75 Louis M. Schwinn 1975-77 G. Harold Springer 1977-79 John D. Tuggle 1979-80 Marjorie Read 1980-81 James D. Barnett 1981-82 Joe H. Galey 1982 Jack W. Anderson 1982-85 Preston Haddan 1985-87 Arthur E. Treece 1987-89 Albert C. Liebert 1989-93 Perl S. Schmid 1993-94 Harold Papen 1994-95 James D. Barnett 1995-97 Henry Schmidt 1997-99 David Baldwin 1999-2003 Don Edwards 2003-04 Dee L. Messer 2004-05 Virgil O. Horn 2005-06 Robert York 2006-07 Virgil O. Horn 2007-

Postmasters at Coffeyville, 1883-1901 (may be incomplete!)
S. B. Hickman as of 1883 Walter H. Wells as of 1887 A. B. Powell as of 1901

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/KS/ofc/coffeyville.html .  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]