The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Atchison, Kansas

Mayors of Atchison, 1858-1956 (may be incomplete!)
Samuel C. Pomeroy as of 1858-59 John A. Martin as of 1865 Cassius Gaius Foster as of 1867 William T. Bland as of 1894 J. W. Orr 1901-07 A. H. Lehman as of 1937 Fred W. Stein as of 1952-55 A. C. Ferrell as of 1956

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1903 Apr 7: J. W. Orr, elected.

    Postmasters at Atchison, 1855-1985 (may be incomplete!)
    Robert S. Kelly 1855 John H. Blasingame 1855-57 Henry Addonis 1857-61 John A. Martin 1861-74 Benjamin B. Gale 1874-79 John M. Price 1879-82 Melville G. Winegar 1882-86 H. Clay Park 1886-90 Solomon R. Washer 1890-94 Edgar C. Post 1894-98 James M. Chisham 1898-1910 William D. Casey 1910-14 Louis C. Orr 1914-23 William P. Ham 1923 William P. Ham 1923-33 Edmund W. Emery 1933-34 Edmund W. Emery 1934-40 Frederick J. Donovan 1940-56 Herbert G. Ham 1956-57 Herbert G. Ham 1957-58 John E. Smith 1958-59 John E. Smith 1959-85

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/KS/ofc/atchison.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]