The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Arkansas City, Kansas

Mayors of Arkansas City, 1912-2013 (may be incomplete!)
Jacob Wilson Reed 1912-13 O. G. Gibson 1916 Charles N. Hunt 1917 George R. McIntosh 1922 C. M. Boggs 1925 R. C. Howard 1926 W. F. Walker 1928 P. J. Ruckel as of 1937 Jack G. Kelley as of 1952 C. K. Freeman as of 1953 E. S. Berry as of 1954 Jack G. Kelley as of 1955 Claud Freeman as of 1956 Robert B. Docking as of 1965 Robert M. Jay 1968 James G. Andrews 1968-70 Edwin Knocke 1970 Ora J. Sherdon 1970 Karl W. Smykil 1981 Ben Givens 1982 E. W. Shelton 1983 Vern M. Case 1984 Mark D. Paton 1985 Lee A. Gregg, Jr. 1986 David McLeod Mills 1987 Jesse A. Kindred 1988 Mark D. Paton 1989 Lee A. Gregg, Jr. 1990 Jesse A. Kindred 1991 Jean C. Lough 1992 Ben Givens 1993 Jerald K. Hooley 1994 Bill Rice 1995 Jesse A. Kindred 1996 Jay Warren as of 2013

Postmasters at Arkansas City, 1883-1901 (may be incomplete!)
J. C. Topliff as of 1883 M. N. Sinnot as of 1887 R. C. Howard as of 1901

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/KS/ofc/arkansascity.html .  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]