The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Kokomo, Indiana

Mayors of Kokomo, 1865-1963 (may be incomplete!)
Nelson Purdom 1865-66 Corydon Richmond 1867-68 John W. Cooper 1869-72 N. P. Richmond 1873-78 J. M. Darnall 1879-80 Henry C. Cole 1881 W. Scott Armstrong 1881-85 J. McLean Moulder 1885-89 James B. Kirkpatrick 1889-91 J. C. F. Thorne 1891-94 A. B. Kirkpatrick 1895-98 W. Scott Armstrong 1899-1902 Macy A. Brouse 1903-06 William H. Arnett 1906-09 John L. Puckett 1910-13 George W. Stidger 1914-17 Isaac Wright 1918-21 Barnabas C. Moon 1922-23 James Burrows 1923-25 S. E. Spurgeon 1926-29 Henry Quigley 1930-34 Olin R. Holt 1935-38 Harold Freeland 1939-42 Charles V. Orr 1943-47 James H. Maguire 1948-51 Raymon Gilbert as of 1952-59 John W. Miller 1963

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1865: Nelson Purdom (Rep), elected; A. J. Norton (Dem), defeated.
  • 1881 Sep 19: Henry C. Cole, died in office.
  • 1906 Oct 2: Macy A. Brouse, died in office.
  • 1913 Nov 4: George W. Stidger (Dem), elected; W. W. Eikenbery (Progressive), defeated; Lloyd McClure (Rep), defeated; Edwin Cooper (Socialist), defeated; Emile Martin (Ind), defeated.
  • 1917 Nov 6: Isaac Wright (Rep), elected; George W. Stidger (Dem), defeated; Charles L. Bourne (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1921 Nov 8: Barnabas C. Moon (Dem), elected; Omar F. Brown (Rep), defeated; Charles A. Martin (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1925 Nov 3: S. E. Spurgeon (Rep), elected; W. D. Rea (Dem), defeated; Charles A. Martin (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1929 Nov 5: Henry Quigley (Rep), elected; James P. Davis (Dem), defeated.
  • 1963 Nov 5: John W. Miller (Rep), elected; Jacob Finley (Dem), defeated.

    Postmasters at Kokomo, 1845-1976 (may be incomplete!)
    Adam Clark 1845-49 William C. Jones 1849-52 Silas H. Fawcett 1852-53 Hayden Rayburn 1853-54 Alfred H. Ploughe 1854-61 Theopholus C. Philips 1861-66 Edward W. Freeman 1866-71 Albert F. Phillips 1871-77 Hezekiah H. Winslow 1877-79 Orlando A. Somers 1879-85 W. Scott Armstrong 1885-89 George W. McKinsey 1889-93 Charles H. Leach 1893-97 Thomas T. Whiteker 1897-1902 John A. Kautz 1902-06 Edgar A. Simmons 1906-10 William H. Arnett 1910-14 Charles H. Havens 1914-22 Ben Havens 1922 Ben Havens 1922-27 Morton Lamb 1927-32 Ernest M. Hunt 1932-36 William W. Workman 1936-64 Richard P. Gerhard 1964-66 Richard P. Gerhard 1966-76

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IN/ofc/kokomo.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]