The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Indianapolis, Indiana
Mayors, Postmasters, U.S. Land Office officials

Mayors of Indianapolis, 1847-2015 (may be incomplete!)
Samuel Henderson 1847-49 Horatio C. Newcomb 1849-51 Caleb Scudder 1851-54 James McCready 1854-56 Henry F. West 1856 Charles G. Coulon 1856 William J. Wallace 1856-58 Samuel D. Maxwell 1858-63 John Caven 1863-67 Daniel McCauley 1867-73 James L. Mitchell 1873-75 John Caven 1875-81 Daniel W. Grubbs 1881-84 John L. McMaster 1884-86 Caleb S. Denny 1886-90 Thomas L. Sullivan 1890-93 Caleb S. Denny 1893-95 Thomas Taggart 1895-1901 Charles A. Bookwalter 1901-03 John W. Holtzman 1903-05 Charles A. Bookwalter 1906-09 Samuel Lewis Shank 1910-13 Harry R. Wallace 1913 Joseph E. Bell 1914-17 Charles W. Jewett 1918-21 Samuel Lewis Shank 1922-25 John L. Duvall 1926-27 Claude E. Negley 1927 L. Ert Slack 1927-29 Reginald H. Sullivan 1930-34 John W. Kern 1935-37 Walter C. Boetcher 1937-38 Reginald H. Sullivan 1939-42 Robert H. Tyndall 1943-47 George L. Denny 1947 Al G. Feeney 1948-50 Philip L. Bayt, Jr. 1950-51 Christian J. Emhardt 1951 Alex M. Clark 1952-55 Philip L. Bayt, Jr. 1956-59 Charles H. Boswell 1959-62 Albert H. Losche 1962-63 John J. Barton 1964-67 Richard G. Lugar 1968-75 William H. Hudnut III 1976-91 Stephen Goldsmith 1992-99 Bart Peterson 2000-07 Gregory A. Ballard 2008-15

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1847 Apr 24: Samuel Henderson (Whig), elected.
  • 1851 Nov 7: Horatio C. Newcomb, resigned.
  • 1856 Nov 8: Henry F. West, died in office.
  • 1858 May 3: William J. Wallace, resigned.
  • 1891: William Wirt Herod, defeated.
  • 1899 Oct 10: Thomas Taggart (Dem), elected.
  • 1905 Nov 7: Charles A. Bookwalter (Rep), elected; John W. Holtzman (Dem), defeated; George Hitz (Prohibition), defeated; Theodore Bernine (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1913 Nov 28: Samuel Lewis Shank, resigned.
  • 1917: Charles W. Jewett, elected.
  • 1927 Oct 27: John L. Duvall, resigned.
  • 1937 Sep 2: John W. Kern, resigned.
  • 1947 Jul 9: Robert H. Tyndall, died in office.
  • 1950 Nov 12: Al G. Feeney, died in office.
  • 1951 Nov 6: Alex M. Clark (Rep), elected; Philip L. Bayt, Jr. (Dem), defeated.
  • 1951 Nov 24: Philip L. Bayt, Jr., resigned.
  • 1959 Jan 1: Philip L. Bayt, Jr., resigned.
  • 1962 Aug 6: Charles H. Boswell, resigned.
  • 1963 Nov 5: John J. Barton (Dem), elected; Clarence T. Drayer (Rep), defeated; Samuel Unger (Ind), defeated.
  • 1999 Nov 2: Bart Peterson (Dem), elected; Sue Anne Gilroy (Rep), defeated; Andrew M. Horning (Libertarian), defeated; John Gibson (Our Party), defeated; John Leroy Plemons, defeated.
  • 2007 Nov 6: Gregory A. Ballard, elected.
  • 2011 Nov 8: Gregory A. Ballard, elected.

    Postmasters at Indianapolis, 1822-1975 (may be incomplete!)
    Samuel Henderson 1822-31 John Cain 1831-41 Joseph M. Moore 1841-43 John Cain 1843-44 Samuel Henderson 1844-45 Livingston Dunlap 1845-49 Alexander W. Russell 1849-52 James N. Russell 1852-53 William W. Wick 1853-57 John M. Talbott 1857-61 Alexander H. Conner 1861-66 David G. Rose 1866-69 William R. Holloway 1869-81 James A. Wildman 1881-85 Aquilla Jones, Jr. 1885-89 William Wallace 1889-91 Edward P. Thompson 1891-94 Albert Sahm 1894-98 James W. Hess 1898-1900 George F. McGinnis 1900-05 Harry W. Bennett 1905-08 Robert H. Bryson 1908-13 Robert E. Springsteen 1913-22 Robert H. Bryson 1922 Robert H. Bryson 1922-32 Leslie D. Clancy 1932-33 Adolph Seidensticker 1933-34 Adolph Seidensticker 1934-48 George J. Ress 1948-49 George J. Ress 1949-54 E. D. Claggett 1954 Walter A. Smith 1954-57 Walter A. Smith 1957-62 John J. Nice 1962 Charles H. Boswell 1962-63 Charles H. Boswell 1963-75

    Registers of U.S. Land Office at Indianapolis, 1825-27 (may be incomplete!)
    Robert Hanna as of 1825-27

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IN/ofc/indianapolis.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]