The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Hammond, Indiana

Mayors of Hammond, 1884-2012 (may be incomplete!)
Marcus M. Towle 1884-88 Thomas Hammond 1888-93 Patrick Reilley 1893-94 Fred Mott 1894-99 Patrick Reilley 1899-1902 A. F. Knotts 1902-04 Lawrence Becker 1904-11 John D. Smalley 1911-18 Daniel Brown 1918-25 Adrian E. Tinkham 1925-30 Charles O. Schonert 1930-35 Frank R. Martin 1935-42 G. Bertram Smith 1942-48 Vernon C. Anderson 1948-56 Edward C. Dowling 1956-68 Joseph E. Klen 1968-76 Thomas M. McDermott, Jr. as of 2012

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1905 Nov 7: Lawrence Becker (Dem), elected; A. Murray Turner (Rep), defeated.
  • 1929: Daniel Brown (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1929: Charles O. Schonert (Rep), elected.
  • 1935: Charles O. Schonert, defeated.
  • 1951: Edward C. Dowling (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1963 Nov 5: Edward C. Dowling (Dem), elected; John Reed (Rep), defeated.
  • 2007 Nov 6: Thomas M. McDermott, Jr. (Dem), elected; George T. Janiec (Rep), defeated.
  • 2011 May 3: Thomas M. McDermott, Jr. (Dem), nominated; James Premeske (Dem), defeated in primary; Oscar Sanchez (Dem), defeated in primary; Alex Rafael Andrade (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 2011 May 3: George T. Janiec (Rep), nominated; Matthew M. Saliga (Rep), defeated in primary; Robert Pastore (Rep), defeated in primary; David P. Hacker (Rep), defeated in primary; Jeffrey E. Macdonald (Rep), defeated in primary; Humberto Prado (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 2011 Nov 8: Thomas M. McDermott, Jr. (Dem), elected; George T. Janiec (Rep), defeated.

    Postmasters at Hammond, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Mary Louise Woods as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IN/ofc/hammond.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]