The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Gary, Indiana

Mayors of Gary, 1909-2012 (may be incomplete!)
Thomas E. Knotts 1909-13 Roswell O. Johnson 1914-15 Lee B. Clayton as of 1937 Joseph E. Finerty 1943-44 Eugene H. Swartz as of 1950-51 Peter Mandich as of 1952-56 George Chacharis as of 1959 Rudolph M. Clay 2006-11 Karen M. Freeman-Wilson as of 2012

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1963 Nov 5: A. Martin Katz (Dem), elected; Theodore D. Nering, Jr. (Rep), defeated.
  • 1967: Richard G. Hatcher, elected; Joseph Radigan (Rep), defeated.
  • 1975: James F. Hilton (Rep), defeated.
  • 2007 Nov 6: Rudolph M. Clay (Dem), elected; Charles R. Smith, Jr. (Rep), defeated.
  • 2011 May 3: Karen M. Freeman-Wilson (Dem), nominated; Ragen Hatcher (Dem), defeated in primary; Chip Lowe (Dem), defeated in primary; Jeffery L. Tatum (Dem), defeated in primary; Harold Foster (Dem), defeated in primary; Rudolph M. Clay (Dem), defeated in primary; Richard L. Nash (Dem), defeated in primary; Saba S. Mohammed (Dem), defeated in primary; Robert L. Lewis (Dem), defeated in primary; Larry Evans (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 2011 May 3: Charles R. Smith, Jr. (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 2011 Nov 8: Karen M. Freeman-Wilson (Dem), elected; Lavetta Sparks-Wade (Ind), defeated; Eddie Tarver (Unicratic), defeated; Charles R. Smith, Jr. (Rep), defeated.

    Postmasters at Gary, 1950-77 (may be incomplete!)
    James Neugebauer 1950 James Neugebauer 1950-54 Sid Charais 1954-55 Sid Charais 1955-63 James Neugebauer 1963-67 Larry C. Wilburn 1967-68 Larry C. Wilburn 1968-77

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IN/ofc/gary.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]