The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Evansville, Indiana

Mayors of Evansville, 1847-2012 (may be incomplete!)
James G. Jones 1847-53 John S. Hopkins 1853-56 John Hewson 1856-59 William Baker 1859-68 William Hall Walker 1868-70 Eccles G. Van Riper 1870 William Baker 1870-72 Charles H. Butterfield 1872-74 John J. Kleiner 1874-80 Thomas C. Bridwell 1880-86 John H. Dannettell 1886-89 Nicholas M. Goodlett 1889-92 Anthony C. Hawkins 1892-97 William M. Akin, Jr. 1897-1901 Charles G. Covert 1901-06 John W. Boehne 1906-09 John J. Nolan 1909-10 Charles F. Heilman 1910-14 Benjamin Bosse 1914-22 William H. Elmendorf 1922-26 Herbert Males 1926-30 Frank W. Griese 1930-35 William H. Dress 1935-42 Manson L. Reichert 1943-48 William H. Dress 1948-49 Edwin F. Diekmann 1949-51 Henry O. Roberts 1952-55 Vance Hartke 1956-58 J. William Davidson 1958-60 Frank F. McDonald 1960-72 Russell G. Lloyd, Sr. 1972-79 Michael Vandeveer 1980-87 Frank F. McDonald II 1987-2000 Russ Lloyd, Jr. 2000-03 Jonathan Weinzapfel 2003-11 Lloyd Winnecke 2012-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1868: William Baker, defeated.
  • 1870 Sep 9: William Hall Walker, died in office.
  • 1872 May 23: William Baker, died in office.
  • 1901: John W. Boehne (Dem), defeated.
  • 1901 Apr 2: Charles G. Covert (Rep), elected.
  • 1909: Charles F. Heilman (Rep), elected.
  • 1922 Apr 4: Benjamin Bosse, died in office.
  • 1929: Susie Van Orman (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1929: Frank W. Griese (Dem), elected.
  • 1934: William H. Dress (Dem), elected.
  • 1938: William H. Dress (Dem), elected.
  • 1942 Nov 3: Manson L. Reichert (Rep), elected; William H. Dress (Dem), defeated.
  • 1949 Nov 10: William H. Dress, died in office.
  • 1958: Vance Hartke, resigned.
  • 1963 Nov 5: Frank F. McDonald (Dem), elected; Henry O. Roberts (Rep), defeated.
  • 1987: Michael Vandeveer, resigned.

    Postmasters at Evansville, 1818-1971 (may be incomplete!)
    Hugh McGary 1818-19 Ansel Wood 1819-20 Jacob Zimmerman 1820-22 William Warner 1822-23 Harley B. Chandler 1823-27 Alexander Johnson 1827 Levi Price 1827-35 Charles D. Bourne 1835-38 Frederick E. Goodsell 1838-41 Daniel Chute 1841-45 Benjamin F. Duprey 1845-49 William H. Chandler 1849-51 William Butler 1851 Crawford Bell 1851-52 William H. Chandler 1852-53 Ben Stinson 1853-57 Christopher R. Rudd 1857-61 James H. McNeeley 1861-66 James P. De Bouler 1866-67 Azariah T. Whittlesey 1867-69 John W. Foster 1869-73 Theodore R. McFerson 1873-77 Francis M. Thayer 1877-83 Henry S. Bennett 1883-85 James W. Lauer 1885-89 Henry S. Bennett 1889-93 John J. Nolan 1893-97 James D. Parvin 1897-1906 Charles G. Covert 1906-10 Charles Sihler 1910-14 John J. Nolan 1914-23 Charles G. Covert 1923-33 Henry M. Mayer 1933-34 Henry M. Mayer 1934-46 Walter J. Foley 1946 William R. Etheridge 1946-48 John Edgar Sachs 1948-56 Joseph E. Conley 1956-57 Charles L. Oxley 1957-58 Charles L. Oxley 1958-71

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IN/ofc/evansville.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]