The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Connersville, Indiana

Mayors of Connersville, 1904-63 (may be incomplete!)
Finly H. Gray as of 1904-10 William Dentlinger as of 1937 Ross W. Castle 1939-44 C. Schultze as of 1950-51 Glen R. Henderson 1952-55 R. L. Haley, Jr. as of 1956-59 Glen R. Henderson 1963

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1963 Nov 5: Ralph Newquist (Rep), elected; Glen R. Henderson (Dem), defeated.

    Postmasters at Connersville, 1818-1985 (may be incomplete!)
    Joshua Harlan 1818-22 John Sample 1822-29 John Tate 1829-46 Elisha Vance 1846-47 George Frybarger 1847 Henry Goodlander 1847-49 Joseph Justice 1849-53 Henry Goodlander 1853-57 John B. Tate 1857-61 Joseph Justice 1861-63 Romeo Lewis 1863-64 Alex R. Morrison 1864-66 John Kensler 1866-74 George M. Sinks 1874-83 John W. Ross 1883-85 John M. Higgs 1885-89 James H. Fearis 1889-94 John M. Higgs 1894-98 John Payne 1898-1902 Miles K. Moffett 1902-10 Samuel E. DeHanen 1910-14 Simon Doenges 1914-21 William F. McNaughton 1921 Glen Zell 1921-30 Chester Boone 1930-34 Ella M. Tingley 1934-35 William H. Luking 1935-53 Ernie C. Hopkins 1953-54 Roy E. Nelson 1954-55 Raymond P. Steele 1955-57 Raymond P. Steele 1957-63 Lowell F. Luking 1963-65 Lowell F. Luking 1965-85

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IN/ofc/connersville.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]