The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Columbus, Indiana

Mayors of Columbus, 1877-1963 (may be incomplete!)
George W. Cooper as of 1877 Carlos S. Folger 1943-44 Robert L. Stevenson as of 1950-51 Richard L. Thayer as of 1952-55 Fred C. Owens as of 1956-59 E. A. Welmer 1963

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1942 Nov 3: Carlos S. Folger (Dem), elected.
  • 1963 Nov 5: Eret Kline (Rep), elected; E. A. Welmer (Dem), defeated.

    Postmasters at Columbus, 1821-1977 (may be incomplete!)
    William Duerson 1821-22 Samuel H. T. Woolfolk 1822 Joseph Williamson 1822-23 Ira Grover 1823-25 James W. McAchvan 1825-26 John C. Hubbard 1826-29 Samuel M. Osbourne 1829-30 John S. Mitchell 1830-31 Elisha P. Jones 1831-38 Aquilla Jones 1838-41 William Mounts 1841-44 Aquilla Jones 1844-49 Samuel A. Moore 1849-53 Asa E. S. Long 1853-56 John D. Mathes 1856-60 John S. Barkalow 1860-62 John B. Cobb 1862-65 Samuel J. Harris 1865-67 Joseph Whitten 1867-69 William M. Winkler 1869-81 Isaac T. Brown 1881-85 George W. Cooper 1885-86 George E. Finney 1886-89 Amos E. Hartman 1889-93 Thomas A. Rush 1893-97 William A. Stevens 1897-1905 William F. Coats 1905-11 John M. Davis 1911-15 Irvin A. Cox 1915-22 John C. Ballinger 1922-23 Howard J. Tooley 1923-27 Charles G. Hunter 1927-32 James E. Reed 1932-34 Clarence A. Thompson 1934-35 Clarence A. Thompson 1935-43 Charles E. Hull 1943 Charles E. Hull 1943-66 John C. Beaty 1966-67 Frank Phillips 1967-68 Elmer R. Tekulve 1968-77

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IN/ofc/columbus.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]