The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Boonville, Indiana

Mayors of Boonville, 1959-63 (may be incomplete!)

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1959 Nov 3: Orgle Myers (Dem), elected.
  • 1963 Nov 5: Robert J. Mills (Rep), elected; Floyd Lemmons (Dem), defeated.

    Postmasters at Boonville, 1820-1986 (may be incomplete!)
    David S. Smith 1820-21 John A. Graham 1821-29 Simon Lewis 1829-31 Thomas Fitzgerald 1831-32 William Luce 1832-36 Benjamin Luce 1836-38 Bailey H. Boon 1838-39 Joel W. B. Moore 1839-41 Reuben C. Matthewson 1841-45 Thomas F. Bethell 1845-47 Chester Bethell 1847-49 Thomas Hudspeth 1849 Josiah Jones 1849-53 Thomas W. Hammonds 1853-54 John S. Hougland 1854 Thomas Hudspeth 1854-57 Stephen D. Dial 1857-61 William J. L. Hemingway 1861-66 Joel W. B. Moore 1866-68 John M. Mills 1868 Lawrence W. Jarrett 1868-69 Ephraim Ebright 1869-71 Edward A. Baker 1871 Daniel W. Brown 1871-72 William J. L. Hemenway 1872-78 George L. Masters 1878-85 William Swint 1885-89 Charles M. Hammond 1889-93 Jacob B. Ashley 1893-97 Jasper H. Thornburgh 1897-1901 William L. Bryan 1901-09 John F. Richardson 1909-14 Jacob Eifler 1914-22 James A. Miller 1922-27 Helen P. Roetzel 1927 Helen P. Roetzel 1927-31 Robert F. Johnson 1931 Edward R. Siegel 1931-36 Pearl O. Dark 1936 Edward Bracher 1936-59 Clara L. Tobin 1959-61 Edgar Hebner, Jr. 1961 Edgar Hebner, Jr. 1961-86

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IN/ofc/boonville.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]