The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Bluffton, Indiana

Mayors of Bluffton, 1942-63 (may be incomplete!)
Charles W. Decker 1960-63

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1942 Nov 3: John Wald (Rep), elected.
  • 1959 Nov 3: Charles W. Decker (Dem), elected.
  • 1963 Nov 5: Charles W. Decker (Dem), elected unopposed.

    Postmasters at Bluffton, 1838-1975 (may be incomplete!)
    Almon Case 1838-48 William McBride 1848-49 John Studabaker 1849-52 John P. Greer 1852-53 William W. Wilson 1853 Samuel G. Upton 1853-56 Amza White 1856-60 George McDowell 1860 Thomas H. Crosby 1860-61 Nelson Kellogg 1861-66 Jack W. Freeman 1866-69 Francis N. Kellogg 1869-75 Samuel Davenport 1875-80 George Arnold 1880-84 Samuel J. Keller 1884-86 William H. Bennett 1886-90 David H. Swaim 1890-93 William A. Gutelius 1893-97 LaVergne B. Stevens 1897-1901 Arthur L. Sharpe 1901-06 James R. Spivey 1906-11 Luster E. Roush 1911-13 Ralph S. Todd 1913 Benjamin A. Batson 1913-21 Charles Van Horn 1921 Charles Van Horn 1921-25 Ralph C. Thomas 1925 Ralph C. Thomas 1925-33 Frank Ulmer 1933-34 Frank Ulmer 1934-42 Roy Biberstine 1942-63 John G. Decker 1963-64 James A. Zoll 1964-65 James A. Zoll 1965-67 Kenneth L. Higgins 1967-68 Kenneth L. Higgins 1968-75

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IN/ofc/bluffton.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]