The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Springfield, Illinois

Mayors of Springfield, 1841-2007 (may be incomplete!)
William L. May as of 1841 John P. Cook as of 1855 William Jayne as of 1859-61 R. D. Lawrence as of 1892 Loren E. Wheeler 1897-1901 Charles T. Bauman as of 1919 S. A. Bullard as of 1925 John W. Kapp, Jr. as of 1935-45 John E. MacWherter as of 1954 Karen Hasara as of 1995-2001 Timothy J. Davlin as of 2007

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1901 Apr 2: John L. Phillips (Rep), elected; William O. Converse (Dem), defeated.

    Postmasters at Springfield, 1822-1969 (may be incomplete!)
    Stephen Stillman 1822-23 Elijah Iles 1823-25 Asa S. Shaw 1825-26 Stephen Stillman 1826-28 Edward Mitchell 1828-31 William Carpenter 1831-39 John S. Roberts 1839-41 James W. Keyes 1841 George W. Spotswood 1841-45 Jonathan R. Diller 1845-49 Abner Y. Ellis 1849-53 Isaac R. Diller 1853-57 James W. Keyes 1857-58 Morris Lindsay 1858-61 John Armstrong 1861-65 Presco Wright 1865-68 John T. Smith 1868-69 Isaac Keyes 1869 James L. Crane 1869-77 David L. Phillips 1877-80 Paul Selby 1880-86 Henry W. Clendenin 1886-90 James C. Conkling 1890-94 Redick M. Ridgely 1894-96 Charles A. Keyes 1896-97 William B. Ridgely 1897-99 Lewis H. Miner 1899-1901 Loren E. Wheeler 1901-14 James W. Patton 1914-19 William H. Conkling 1920-21 William H. Conkling 1921-31 Albert L. Pickel 1931-34 West M. Rourke 1934-35 West M. Rourke 1935-49 William A. Steiger 1949-50 Albert T. Oswald 1950-54 William E. McElroy 1954-55 William E. McElroy 1955-69

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1880 Jun 19: David L. Phillips, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IL/ofc/springfield.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]