The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Rock Island, Illinois

Mayors of Rock Island, 1849-2007 (may be incomplete!)
Benjamin Barrett 1849-50 Benjamin Barrett 1855-56 Thomas Jefferson Buford 1860 James Monroe Buford 1870 Henry Carse 1880-83 James Z. Mott 1883-85 Thomas Murdock 1885-87 Virgil M. Blanding 1887-89 William McConochie 1889-93 Thomas J. Medill, Jr. 1893-95 B. Frank Knox 1895-97 Thomas J. Medill, Jr. 1897-99 William McConochie 1899-1901 B. Frank Knox 1901-03 William McConochie 1903-05 George W. McCaskrin 1905-07 Harry C. Schaffer 1907-09 George W. McCaskrin 1909-11 Harry M. Schriver 1911-15 William McConochie 1915-19 Harry M. Schriver 1919-23 Walter A. Rosenfield 1923-27 Chester Thompson 1927-32 Clarence Hodson 1932-34 John Graham 1934-35 John A. Bengston 1935-37 Robert P. Galbraith 1937-45 Melvin McKay 1945-53 Carl F. Bauer 1953-57 Warren Yerger 1957-61 Morris E. Muhleman 1961-65 James H. Haymaker 1965-77 Alan A. Campbell 1977-78 James R. Davis 1979-85 Robert Millett 1985-89 Mark W. Schwiebert 1989-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1927 Apr 19: Chester Thompson (Dem), elected; William R. Carse (Rep), defeated.
  • 1964: Chester Thompson, defeated.

    Postmasters at Rock Island, 1841-1970 (may be incomplete!)
    Charles A. Garnsey 1841-43 John Buford 1843-47 Harman G. Reynolds 1847-49 Elbridge R. Bean 1849-53 James Kelley 1853-56 Lewis M. Webber 1856-58 Herman Field 1858-61 Calvin Truesdale 1861-65 John B. Hawley 1865-66 James F. Copp 1866-67 Marcus B. Osborn 1867-71 Levi M. Haverstick 1871-73 William Jackson 1873-76 Thomas Murdock 1876-80 James M. Beardsley 1880-84 Charles W. Hawes 1884-88 August Huesing 1888-89 Howard Wells 1889-93 John W. Potter 1893-97 Thomas H. Thomas 1897-1906 Hugh A. J. McDonald 1906-14 Harry P. Simpson 1914-23 Hugh A. J. McDonald 1923-24 Hugh A. J. McDonald 1924-36 John J. McCarthy 1936-57 Carl F. Bauer 1957-58 Carl J. L. Wessel 1958 Carl J. L. Wessel 1958-70

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IL/ofc/rockisland.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]