The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Oak Park, Illinois
including Noyesville
Village Presidents, Postmasters

Village Presidents of Oak Park, 1925-2009 (may be incomplete!)
Willis McFeely as of 1925 James A. Howe as of 1935-38 J. R. Christianson as of 1960 David Pope as of 2005-09

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 2005 Apr 5: David Pope, elected; Robert Milstein, defeated; Diana Carpenter, defeated.
  • 2009 Apr 7: David Pope, elected; Gary Schwab, defeated.

    Postmasters at Oak Park, 1866-1973 (may be incomplete!)
    Amos S. Pack 1866-70 O. W. Herrick 1870-71 Amos S. Pack 1871 O. W. Herrick 1871-73 Edwin W. Phelps 1873-74 John Merton 1874-75 Edwin W. Phelps 1875-85 William Steiner 1885-89 DeLos Hull 1889-94 Albert W. Giles 1894-98 William A. Hutchinson 1898-1916 Robert Sherrard 1916-25 William A. Spickerman 1925-31 Lester B. McAllister 1931-35 Joseph L. Lynch 1935 Joseph L. Lynch 1935-45 Joseph E. White 1945-46 Charles J. Murphy 1946-49 Charles J. Murphy 1949-73

    (now Oak Park)

    Postmasters at Noyesville, 1846-66 (may be incomplete!)
    Ephraim Collar 1846-49 Ashbel Steele 1849-53 Ephraim Collar 1853-55 Henry P. Flower 1855-57 Ashbel Steele 1857-59 Joseph Barber 1859 John Barber 1859-61 William Archdeacon 1861-65 Amos S. Pack 1865-66

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IL/ofc/oakpark.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]