The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Moline, Illinois

Mayors of Moline, 1872-2007 (may be incomplete!)
Daniel L. Wheelock 1872-73 John Deere 1873-75 Daniel L. Wheelock 1875-77 Stillman Wheelock 1877-83 E. B. Knox 1883-85 Martin Schillinger 1885-87 Charles O. Nason 1887-89 Peter H. Wessel 1889-93 W. C. Bennett 1893-95 Gustaf Swensson 1895-99 Peter H. Wessel 1899-1903 Charles P. Skinner 1903-05 Andrew Olson 1905-11 Martin Carlson 1911-18 Clarence Trevor 1918-19 Charles P. Skinner 1919-23 C. W. Sandstrom 1923-31 John F. Huey 1931-33 A. Henry Arp 1933-45 Ezra H. Sohner 1945-49 Hjamer Oakleaf 1949-51 Paul C. Johnson 1951-57 Arnold Smith 1957-61 James Arndt 1961-69 Jesse M. McCandless 1969-73 Earl Wendt 1973-77 Lawrence Lorensen 1977-81 Robert W. Anderson 1981-89 Allen McCaulley 1989-93 Don Welvaert 2005-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1895: W. C. Bennett, defeated.
  • 1897 Apr 6: Gustaf Swensson (People's), elected; Charles W. Lundahl (Citizens), defeated.
  • 1899 Apr 4: Peter H. Wessel (Rep), elected; J. W. Morgan (People's), defeated; Gustaf Swensson (Independent Republican), defeated.
  • 1901: Gustaf Swensson, defeated.
  • 1927 Apr 19: C. W. Sandstrom, elected unopposed.
  • 1931: John F. Huey (Rep), elected; Andrew Olson (People's), defeated.
  • 1933 Apr 18: A. Henry Arp (Dem), elected; John F. Huey (Rep), defeated; E. G. Falk (Ind), defeated.
  • 2005: Don Welvaert, elected.

    Postmasters at Moline, 1887-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    D. W. Gould as of 1887 G. H. McKinley as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IL/ofc/moline.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]