The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Boise, Idaho

Mayors of Boise, 1866-2004 (may be incomplete!)
Ephraim Smith 1866-67 Henry E. Prickett 1867-68 Thomas B. Hart 1868-69 Charles Himrod 1869-72 George M. Twitchell 1872-73 Thomas E. Logan 1873-75 John Lemp 1875-76 Thomas E. Logan 1876-78 Charles Himrod 1878-79 Cyrus Y. Jacobs 1879-80 Charles P. Bilderback 1880-81 James A. Pinney 1881-85 Sol Hasbrouck 1885 Joseph W. Huston 1885-87 Peter J. Pefley 1887-89 James A. Pinney 1889-93 Peter Sonna 1893-95 Walter E. Pierce 1895-97 Moses Alexander 1897-99 James H. Richards 1899-1901 Moses Alexander 1901-03 James H. Hawley 1903-05 James A. Pinney 1905-07 John M. Haines 1907-09 Joseph T. Pence 1909-11 Harry Fritchman 1911-12 Arthur Hodges 1912-15 Jeremiah Robinson 1915-16 Samuel H. Hays 1916-19 Ern G. Eagleson 1919-21 Eugene B. Sherman 1921-25 Ern G. Eagleson 1925-27 Herbert F. Lemp 1927 Walter F. Hansen 1927-29 James P. Pope 1929-33 Ross Cady 1933 J. J. McCue 1933-35 Bryon E. Hyatt 1935-36 James L. Edlefsen 1936-39 James L. Straight 1939-41 H. Westerman Whillock 1941-42 Austin A. Walker 1942-45 Samuel S. Griffin 1945-46 H. Westerman Whillock 1946-47 Potter P. Howard 1947-51 Russell E. Edlefsen 1951-59 Robert L. Day 1959-61 Eugene W. Shellworth 1961-65 Jay S. Amyx 1966-73 Richard R. Eardley 1974-85 Dirk Kempthorne 1986-93 H. Brent Coles 1993-2003 Carolyn Terteling-Payne 2003 David H. Bieter 2004-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1871: John Hailey, elected, but never took office.
  • 1885 Nov 5: Sol Hasbrouck, resigned.
  • 1919 Apr 22: Ern G. Eagleson, elected.
  • 1927 May 6: Herbert F. Lemp, died in office.
  • 1933 Feb 13: James P. Pope, resigned.
  • 1936 Nov 11: Bryon E. Hyatt, died in office.
  • 1942 May 11: H. Westerman Whillock, resigned.
  • 1945 Oct 31: Austin A. Walker, died in office.
  • 1946 Feb 25: Samuel S. Griffin, resigned; H. Westerman Whillock, appointed.

    Postmasters at Boise, 1864-1974 (may be incomplete!)
    Bolivar B. Bishop 1864-65 Alonzo G. Cook 1865 Joseph H. Misener 1865-66 Robert H. Lindsay 1866-69 Thomas E. Logan 1869-73 John A. Post 1873-83 Jeremiah McKean 1883-85 John A. Post 1885-86 Thomas B. Gess 1886-88 Charles P. Bilderback 1888-89 Emerie R. Leonard 1889-93 Edgar B. Tage 1893-97 Warren C. Fenton 1897-1910 John McMillan 1910-14 Peter M. Davis 1914-23 Louis W. Thrailkill 1923-35 Harry L. Yost 1935-50 Joe R. Williams 1950-52 James F. Hughes 1952-62 John G. Rost 1962-63 John G. Rost 1963-74

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ID/ofc/boise.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]