The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
including Kenwood Park
Mayors, Postmasters

Mayors of Cedar Rapids, 1878-2013 (may be incomplete!)
John T. Hamilton as of 1878 John T. Carmody 1909 M. J. Miles 1909-11 Frank K. Hahn as of 1950 Clarence L. Sedive as of 1951-52 Milo J. Sedlacek as of 1953-54 James J. Meaghan as of 1960 Robert M. L. Johnson 1962-67 Don Canney 1969-92 Paul Pate 2002-06 Kay Halloran 2006-09 Ron J. Corbett 2010-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1909 Aug 7: John T. Carmody, died in office.
  • 1910: M. J. Miles, elected.
  • 1989 Nov 7: Don Canney, elected.
  • 2001 Nov 6: Paul Pate, elected; Lee Clancey, defeated.
  • 2003 Nov 4: Paul Pate, elected; Paul T. Larson, defeated.
  • 2005 Nov 8: Kay Halloran, elected; Scott Olson, defeated.
  • 2009 Nov 3: Ron J. Corbett, elected; Brian Fagan, defeated; Paul T. Larson, defeated.

    Postmasters at Cedar Rapids, 1846-1979 (may be incomplete!)
    Joseph Greene 1846-49 Lawson Daniels 1849-53 Homer Bishop 1853-61 Joseph G. Davenport 1861-64 George Marvin Howlett 1864-71 Charles Weare 1871-79 William W. Smith 1879-86 Alexander Charles 1886-91 George A. Lincoln 1891-95 Alexander Charles 1895-99 William R. Boyd 1899-1909 Willis G. Haskell 1909-13 Charles D. Huston 1913-22 Frank K. Hahn 1922 Frank K. Hahn 1922-34 Frank B. Baldwin 1934-35 Frank B. Baldwin 1935-49 J. William McLaughlin 1949-50 Elbie R. Petro 1950-67 Walter C. Anawalt 1967 Walter C. Anawalt 1967 Charles J. Seda 1967-68 Charles J. Seda 1968-79

    Kenwood Park
    (annexed to Cedar Rapids 1926)

    Postmasters at Kenwood Park, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    M. Jensen as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IA/ofc/cedarrapids.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]