The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Ames, Iowa

Mayors of Ames, 1870-2006 (may be incomplete!)
William West 1870-71 C. E. Turner 1871-72 Walter Evans 1872-73 Iraneaus Liter Smith 1873-74 W. D. Lucas 1874-75 William Clark 1875-77 George Almon Underwood 1877-79 E. R. Chamberlain 1879-80 George G. Tilden 1880-81 Henry Wilson 1881-83 John Watts 1883-84 Parley Sheldon 1884-86 Merrill C. Jones 1886-88 Wallace M. Greeley 1888-90 Parley Sheldon 1890-94 Henry Wilson 1894-96 Marcellus K. Smith 1896-97 Lucien C. Tilden 1897-98 Sovarro Cramer 1898-99 Thomas Thompson 1899-1902 Parley Sheldon 1902-08 J. Galen Tilden 1908-10 Parley Sheldon 1910-16 George Baker 1916-18 E. H. Graves 1918-20 Thomas Lester Rice 1920-24 Frank Hinman Schleiter 1924-34 William L. Allan 1934-38 Frank D. Paine 1938-42 Hollis B. Manning 1942-46 Clinton J. Adams 1946-48 William L. Allan 1948-53 Joseph P. Lawlor 1954-57 Pearle P. DeHart 1958-65 Don R. Newbrough 1966-67 Stuart N. Smith 1968-73 William Franklin Pelz 1974-75 Lee Fellinger 1976-79 F. Paul Goodland 1980-89 Larry R. Curtis 1990-97 Ted Tedesco 1998-2005 Ann Campbell 2006-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1938 Mar 28: Frank D. Paine, elected; William L. Allan, defeated.
  • 1946 Mar 25: Clinton J. Adams (Citizens), elected unopposed.
  • 1977 Nov 8: Lee Fellinger, elected.
  • 1989 Nov 7: Larry R. Curtis, elected.

    Postmasters at Ames, 1891-1925 (may be incomplete!)
    John E. Duncan as of 1891 L. G. Hardin as of 1901 Lucien C. Tilden as of 1925

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IA/ofc/ames.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]