The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Macon, Georgia
Mayors, Intendants, Postmasters

Mayors of Macon, 1833-2012 (may be incomplete!)
Isaac G. Seymour 1833-34 Robert Augustus Beall 1835 Isaac G. Seymour 1836-39 Washington Poe 1840-41 Frederick Sims 1842 John J. Gresham 1843 James A. Nisbet 1844-45 Isaac Holmes 1846 John J. Gresham 1847 George M. Logan 1848-50 James H. R. Washington 1851 E. L. Strohnecker 1852-54 Benjamin Franklin Ross 1855-56 A. B. Adams 1857 Ovid G. Sparks 1858-60 Methvin S. Thompson 1860-62 Ovid G. Sparks 1863 Stephen Collins 1864-66 George S. Obear 1867-70 William A. Huff 1871-79 Felix Corput 1880-83 Sylvester B. Price 1884-94 Henry Horne 1895-96 Sylvester B. Price 1897 Bridges Smith 1898-1907 Alexander Lawton Miller 1908-09 John T. Moore 1910-13 Bridges Smith 1914-17 G. G. Toole 1918-21 Luther Williams 1922-25 Wallace Miller 1926-27 Luther Williams 1928-29 G. G. Toole 1930-33 Herbert Smart 1934-37 Charles L. Bowden 1938-47 Lewis B. Wilson 1948-53 B. F. Merritt, Jr. 1954-59 Edgar H. Wilson 1960-63 B. F. Merritt, Jr. 1964-67 Ronnie Thompson 1968-75 Buckner F. Melton 1976-79 George Israel 1980-87 Lee Robinson 1987-91 Tommy Olmstead 1992-94 David Carter 1995 Jim Marshall 1996-99 C. Jack Ellis 2000-07 Robert Reichert 2008-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1860 Sep 18: Ovid G. Sparks, resigned.
  • 1999: C. Jack Ellis, elected.
  • 2003: C. Jack Ellis, elected.
  • 2007 Nov 6: Robert Reichert (Dem), elected.
  • 2011: Robert Brown, defeated.

    Intendants of Macon, 1824-32 (may be incomplete!)
    David S. Booth 1824 James H. Rogers 1825 Edward Dorr Tracy 1826 Washington Poe 1827 Robert Birdsong 1828 Joseph Washburn 1829 W. J. Dannelly 1830 Isaac R. Rowland 1831 Levi Eckley 1832

    Postmasters at Macon, 1823-1969 (may be incomplete!)
    Mortimer R. Wallis 1823-32 Keeland Tyner 1832-40 Frederick Sims 1840-41 Keeland Tyner 1841-45 William G. Smith 1845-46 Thomas L. Ross 1846-49 Zephaniah T. Conner 1849-51 James A. Nisbet 1851-57 Edward L. Strohecker 1857-61 James H. R. Washington 1865-69 Henry M. Turner 1869 James H. R. Washington 1869-71 Elijah Bond 1871-73 Edwin Belcher 1873-75 Henry S. Glover 1875-81 William W. Brown 1881-85 Thomas Hardeman, Jr. 1885-90 Richard D. Locke 1890-94 Sylvester B. Price 1894-96 Jacob H. Hertz 1896-1900 Harry S. Edwards 1900-13 Custis Nottingham 1913-21 Hillyer Rudisill 1922 Hillyer Rudisill 1922-23 William Emmett Small 1923 Junius H. Bailey 1923-25 Fox D. Stephens 1925-32 George L. Blossom 1932-33 Peyton T. Anderson 1933-35 William A. Pattillo 1935-36 William A. Pattillo 1936-51 Charles L. Bowden 1951-52 Charles L. Bowden 1952-53 Lloyd C. Ricks 1953-54 Lloyd C. Ricks 1954-69

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1923 Feb 16: Hillyer Rudisill, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/GA/ofc/macon.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]