The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Augusta, Georgia

Mayors of Augusta, 1792-2004 (may be incomplete!)
John Milton as of 1792 Thomas Cumming as of 1798 Walter Leigh 1815-17 Freeman Walker 1818-19 Nicholas Ware 1819-21 Freeman Walker as of 1823 Samuel Hale 1828-36 Alfred Cumming 1836 John Phinizy 1837 Daniel Hook 1840-41 Martin M. Dye 1841-42 Daniel Hook 1842-43 Martin M. Dye 1843-46 Lewis D. Ford 1846-48 Ignatius P. Garvin 1848-49 James B. Bishop 1849-50 Thomas W. Miller 1850-52 William E. Dearing 1852-54 Abner P. Robertson 1854-55 William E. Dearing 1855-56 George W. Evans 1856-57 Benjamin F. Conley 1857-59 Foster Blodgett, Jr. 1859-61 Robert H. May 1861-66 James T. Gardiner 1866 Abner P. Robertson 1866 John Foster 1866-67 Foster Blodgett, Jr. 1867-68 Henry F. Russell 1868-69 Joseph V. H. Allen 1869-70 Charles Estes 1870-76 John U. Meyer 1876-79 Robert H. May 1879-91 James H. Alexander 1891-94 William B. Young 1894-97 Patrick Walsh 1897-99 Jacob Phinizy 1899 Charles A. Robbe 1899-1900 Thomas Barrett, Sr. 1900 Alfred Martin 1900-01 Jacob Phinizy 1901-04 Richard E. Allen 1904-07 William M. Dunbar 1907-10 Thomas Barrett, Sr. 1910-13 Linwood C. Hayne 1913-16 James R. Littleton 1916-19 William P. White 1919-22 Richard Allen, Jr. as of 1937 W. D. Jennings 1951-53 Hugh L. Hamilton as of 1953-56 Bob Young 1999-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1861: Foster Blodgett, Jr., defeated.
  • 1866 Aug 8: James T. Gardiner, resigned.
  • 1899 Mar 19: Patrick Walsh, died in office.
  • 1900 Jul 7: Charles A. Robbe, died in office.

    Postmasters at Augusta, 1792-1971 (may be incomplete!)
    Abraham Jones 1792 Anselm Bugg 1792-94 William Urquhart 1794-99 William J. Hobbey 1799-1802 John B. Wilkinson 1802-06 James Frazer 1806-31 William C. Micon 1831-37 Edmund B. Glascock 1837-51 Benjamin F. Hall 1851-53 James M. Smythe 1853-61 Foster Blodgett, Jr. 1865-69 John E. Bryant 1869-70 Charles H. Prince 1870-82 William F. Holden 1882-85 Ker Boyce 1885-90 Jabez T. Denning 1890-93 William M. Dunbar 1893-98 William H. Stallings 1898-1902 Edward D. Smythe 1902-06 Stephen B. Vaughn 1906-10 Thomas D. Murphy 1910-14 John W. Clark 1914-19 John G. McAuliffe 1919-20 John G. McAuliffe 1920-25 James P. Wood 1925-29 Edward R. Johnson 1929-33 Thomas J. Hamilton 1933-34 Thomas J. Hamilton 1934-37 I. Clarence Levy 1937-39 Benjamin E. Lester 1939-54 Louis J. O'Connell 1954-55 Louis J. O'Connell 1955-71

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/GA/ofc/augusta.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]