The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Athens, Georgia

Mayors of Athens, 1918-56 (may be incomplete!)
Andrew C. Erwin 1918-21 T. S. Mell as of 1937 Bob McWhorter 1940-47 Jack R. Wells as of 1951-56

Postmasters at Athens, 1802-1978 (may be incomplete!)
John Carey 1802-05 Addin Lewis 1805-11 James D. Cole 1811-16 James E. Brown 1816-18 William H. Hunt 1818-24 Leander A. Erwin 1824-30 Andrew Graham 1830 William L. Mitchell 1830-31 Alfred M. Nisbet 1831-36 William L. Mitchell 1836-45 John Crawford 1845-59 Thomas Crawford 1859-61 John S. Williford 1865 James C. Caldwell 1865-66 Samuel Williford 1866-69 Howell C. Flournoy 1869-71 William T. Crane 1871-73 Richard S. Taylor 1873-75 John S. Williford 1875 Richard S. Taylor 1875-77 Josiah C. Orr 1877-82 Madison Davis 1882-86 Wiley B. Burnett 1886-90 Madison Davis 1890-93 James D. Farrell 1893-97 Monroe B. Morton 1897-1902 William Fleming 1902-13 Jeptha H. Rucker 1913-21 Paul L. Smith 1921-22 Paul L. Smith 1922-34 David G. Anderson 1934-35 Jonas R. Myers 1935-50 J. Fred Bishop 1950-51 Ellison B. Stone 1951 Hillyer C. King 1951-69 William F. Rumsey 1969-71 William F. Rumsey 1971-78

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/GA/ofc/athens.html .  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]