The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Americus, Georgia

Mayors of Americus, 1856-1993 (may be incomplete!)
Perry H. Oliver 1856-57 Thomas Clubb Sullivan 1858 Robert Cope Black 1859-64 Nathan Allen Smith 1865 William Sirrine 1866 Timothy Mathews Furlow 1866-68 Robert Cope Black 1869-70 Timothy Mathews Furlow 1871 Hiram L. French 1872-73 Allen S. Cutts 1874-75 John B. Felder 1876 Allen S. Cutts 1877-78 John B. Felder 1879-92 Allen S. Cutts 1893-96 James Augustus Hixon 1896-1900 John B. Felder 1901-02 Eugene Alston Hawkins 1903-07 John B. Felder 1908-10 James Edward Mathis 1910-12 Matthew McCullar Lowrey 1912-14 Lee George Council 1914-18 John Elza Sheppard 1918-22 James Elmore Poole 1922-27 Joseph Thomas Warren 1927-28 James Allen Fort 1929-36 Thomas Leonard Bell 1937-41 Henry Osborne Jones 1941-46 Fred Pasco Bowen 1947-54 John Ernest Logan 1955-56 Fred Pasco Bowen 1957-60 J. Frank Myers, Jr. 1961-62 Thomas Griffin Walker 1962-70 J. Frank Myers, Jr. 1971-74 John West Sheffield, Jr. 1974-79 Russell Thomas, Jr. 1980-88 William Harry McGowan, Jr. 1989-90 Thomas Chandler Gailey 1991-93 Russell Thomas, Jr. 1993-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1896: Allen S. Cutts, died in office.
  • 1922: John Elza Sheppard, died in office.
  • 1927: James Elmore Poole, died in office.
  • 1941: Thomas Leonard Bell, died in office.

    Postmasters at Americus, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Salathiel A. Smith as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/GA/ofc/americus.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]