The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Tampa, Florida
including Tampa Bay
Mayors, Postmasters

Mayors of Tampa, 1856-2013 (may be incomplete!)
Joseph B. Lancaster 1856 Darwin Austen Branch 1856 Alfonso DeLauney 1856-57 Darwin Austen Branch 1857-58 Madison Post 1858-59 James McKay, Sr. 1859-60 John P. Crichton 1860-61 Hamlin V. Snell 1861-62 John Jackson 1862 Edward A. Clarke 1866-69 James E. Lipscomb 1873-76 H. P. Lovering 1876-77 Thomas E. Jackson 1877-78 John P. Wall 1878-80 Henry C. Ferris 1880-81 M. E. Haynsworth 1881 George B. Sparkman 1881-83 Duff Post 1883-86 Herman Glogowski 1886-87 George B. Sparkman 1887-88 Herman Glogowski 1888-89 Thomas E. Jackson 1889-90 Herman Glogowski 1890-91 Duff Post 1891-92 Herman Glogowski 1892-93 Frederick A. Salomonson 1893-94 Robert W. Easley 1894-95 Frederick A. Salomonson 1895-96 Myron Gillette 1896-98 Frank C. Bowyer 1898-1900 Francis L. Wing 1900-02 James McKay, Jr. 1902-04 Frederick A. Salomonson 1904-06 William H. Frecker 1906-08 Francis L. Wing 1908-20 Horace C. Gordon 1920-21 Charles H. Brown 1921-24 Perry G. Wall 1924-28 D. B. McKay 1928-31 Thomas Henderson 1931 Robert E. L. Chancey 1931-43 Curtis Hixon 1943-56 J. L. Young, Jr. 1956 Nick Nuccio 1956-59 Julian Lane 1959-63 Nick Nuccio 1963-67 Dick A. Greco, Jr. 1967-74 Richard L. Cheney 1974 Lloyd Copeland 1974 William F. Poe 1974-79 Bob Martinez 1979-86 Sandra W. Freedman 1986-95 Dick A. Greco, Jr. 1995-2003 Pam Iorio 2003-11 Bob Buckhorn 2011-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1856 Nov 25: Joseph B. Lancaster, died in office.
  • 1881 Feb 19: Henry C. Ferris, resigned.
  • 1956 May 21: Curtis Hixon, died in office.
  • 1963 Sep 10: Nick Nuccio, advanced to runoff; Julian Lane, advanced to runoff; Ed Blackburn, Jr., defeated; Guy A. Burnett, Jr., defeated; Jim Fair, defeated.
  • 1963 Sep 24: Nick Nuccio, elected; Julian Lane, defeated.
  • 1971 Sep 14: Armando P. Valdes, Jr., defeated.
  • 1974 Apr 1: Dick A. Greco, Jr., resigned.
  • 1974 Jun 19: Richard L. Cheney, died in office.
  • 1974 Sep 10: Joe Kotvas, advanced to runoff; William F. Poe, advanced to runoff; Bob Martinez, defeated; Alton M. White, defeated; Logan D. Browning, defeated; Vince Meloy, defeated; Frank Scionti, defeated.
  • 1974 Oct 1: William F. Poe, elected; Joe Kotvas, defeated.
  • 1983 Mar 1: Bob Martinez, elected; Armando P. Valdes, Jr., defeated.
  • 1986 Jul 16: Bob Martinez, resigned.
  • 1987 Mar 3: Sandra W. Freedman, elected; Guy Spicola, defeated; Helen Chavez, defeated; Faye Culp, defeated; Eric J. Walloga, defeated.
  • 1991 Mar 5: Sandra W. Freedman, elected; Larry Smith, defeated; Charles A. Edison, defeated.
  • 1995 Mar 7: Dick A. Greco, Jr., elected; Jan Platt, defeated; Edward T. Young, defeated.
  • 1999 Mar 2: Dick A. Greco, Jr., elected unopposed.
  • 2003 Mar 4: Pam Iorio, advanced to runoff; Frank J. Sanchez, advanced to runoff; Bob Buckhorn, defeated; Miranda, defeated; Donald B. Ardell, defeated.
  • 2003 Mar 25: Pam Iorio, elected; Frank J. Sanchez, defeated.
  • 2007 Mar 6: Pam Iorio, elected; Marion Serious Lewis, defeated; Aria Ray Green, defeated.
  • 2011 Mar 1: Rose V. Ferlita, advanced to runoff; Bob Buckhorn, advanced to runoff; Dick A. Greco, Jr., defeated; Ed Turanchik, defeated; Thomas Scott, defeated.
  • 2011 Mar 22: Bob Buckhorn, elected; Rose V. Ferlita, defeated.

    Postmasters at Tampa, 1834-1975 (may be incomplete!)
    Augustus Steele 1834-39 R. H. Peyton 1839-40 Augustus Steele 1840-42 Manuel Olivella 1842-46 John M. Palmer 1846-50 Hugh T. Fisher 1850-52 Alfonso DeLauney 1852-60 James E. Bowden 1860-61 John H. Jenks 1865-66 John F. Fletcher 1866-68 William L. Apthoop 1868-69 John F. Fletcher 1869 Matthew P. Lyons 1869-71 Charles Slager 1871-72 Charles Hanford 1872 Matthew Hooper 1872-73 Perry G. Wall 1873-75 John S. Judson 1875-77 Robert B. Thomas 1877 Thomas A. Carruth 1877-81 Henry R. Benjamin 1881-87 William N. Conoley 1887-89 Harvey J. Cooper 1889-93 Duff Post 1893-97 Gerard B. Reynolds 1897-1906 George W. Bean 1906-14 James McKay, Jr. 1914-17 Edwin D. Lambright 1917-18 Edwin D. Lambright 1918-23 Elizabeth D. Barnard 1923-33 James Edgar Wall, Sr. 1933-34 James Edgar Wall, Sr. 1934-48 David Gee Hooker 1948-49 Samuel G. Harrison 1949-61 Jose A. Gonzalez 1961-62 Jose A. Gonzalez 1962-75

    Tampa Bay
    (now Tampa)

    Postmasters at Tampa Bay, 1831-34 (may be incomplete!)
    William G. Sanders 1831-32 Augustus Steele 1832-34

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/FL/ofc/tampa.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]