The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Tallahassee, Florida
Mayors, Mayor-Commissioners, Postmasters

Mayors of Tallahassee, 1826-2019 (may be incomplete!)
Charles Haire 1826 David Ochiltree 1827 John Y. Gary 1828-29 Leslie A. Thompson 1830 Charles Austin 1831 Leslie A. Thompson 1832-33 Robert J. Hackley 1834 William Wilson 1835 John Rea 1836 William P. Gorman 1837 William Hilliard 1838 R. F. Ker 1839 Leslie A. Thompson 1840 Francis W. Eppes 1841-44 James A. Berthelot 1845 Simon Towle 1846 James Kirksey 1847 F. H. Flagg 1848 Thomas J. Perkins 1849 David P. Hogue 1850-51 David S. Walker 1852 Richard Hayward 1853 Thomas Hayward 1854-55 Francis W. Eppes 1856-57 David P. Hogue 1858-60 P. T. Pearce 1861-65 Francis W. Eppes 1866 David P. Hogue 1867-68 T. P. Tatum 1869-70 Charles E. Dyke 1871 C. H. Edwards 1872-75 David S. Walker, Jr. 1875 Samuel Walker 1876 Jesse T. Bernard 1877 David S. Walker, Jr. 1878-79 Henry Bernreuter 1880 Edward Lewis 1881 John W. Nash 1882 Edward Lewis 1883 Charles C. Pearce 1884-85 George W. Walker 1886 A. J. Fish 1887 Robert B. Gorman 1888-89 R. B. Carpenter 1890-94 Jesse T. Bernard 1895-96 R. A. Shine 1897 Robert B. Gorman 1898-1902 William L. Moor 1903-04 John W. Henderson 1905 Foster C. Gilmore 1906 W. M. McIntosh, Jr. 1907 Foster C. Gilmore 1908-09 Frank B. Winthrop 1909-10 Dexter M. Lowry 1910-18 J. R. McDaniel 1918-19 Guyte P. McCord 1919-20 Scott Maddox 1997-2003 John Marks 2003-14 Andrew D. Gillum 2014-18 John E. Daily 2018-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1909 Jan 26: Frank B. Winthrop, elected; Foster C. Gilmore, defeated.
  • 1918 Jan 15: J. R. McDaniel (Dem), nominated; William Child (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1918 Feb 20: J. R. McDaniel (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1919 Jan 14: Guyte P. McCord (Dem), nominated; J. R. McDaniel (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1919 Feb 18: Guyte P. McCord (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1997 Feb 4: Scott Maddox, advanced to runoff; Charles Billings, advanced to runoff; Anita L. Davis, defeated.
  • 1997 Feb 25: Scott Maddox, elected; Charles Billings, defeated.
  • 2003 Feb 4: John Marks, advanced to runoff; John Paul Bailey, advanced to runoff; Steve Meisburg, defeated; Anthony C. Davis, defeated; Richard Junnier, defeated.
  • 2003 Feb 25: John Marks, elected; John Paul Bailey, defeated.
  • 2006 Sep 5: John Marks, elected; Kim O'Connor, defeated; Larry Hendricks, defeated.
  • 2010 Aug 24: John Marks, elected; Steve Stewart, defeated; Larry Hendricks, defeated.
  • 2014 Aug 26: Andrew D. Gillum, elected; Zack Richardson, defeated; Larry Hendricks, defeated.
  • 2018 Aug 28: John E. Daily, nominated; Dustin R. Daniels, nominated; Michelle Rehwinkel Vasilinda, defeated in primary; Carrie Litherland, defeated in primary; Joe West, defeated in primary; Norris H. Barr, defeated in primary.
  • 2018 Nov 6: John E. Daily, elected; Dustin R. Daniels, defeated.

    Mayor-Commissioners of Tallahassee, 1920-97 (may be incomplete!)
    Guyte P. McCord 1920-22 A. P. McCaskill 1922-23 Guyte P. McCord 1923 B. A. Meginniss 1923-27 W. Theo Proctor 1928-29 G. E. Lewis 1930-31 Frank D. Moor 1931 W. Theo Proctor 1931 William L. Marshall 1931-34 John L. Fain 1934-35 Leonard A. Wesson 1935-36 H. J. 'Jack' Yaeger 1936-37 Leonard A. Wesson 1937-38 J. R. Jinks 1938-39 S. A. Wahnish 1939-40 Fred Clifton Moor 1940-41 Charles S. Ausley 1941-42 Jack W. Simmons 1942-43 A. R. Richardson 1943-44 Charles S. Ausley 1944-45 Ralph E. Proctor 1945-46 Fred S. Winterle 1946-47 George I. Martin 1947-48 Fred N. Lowry 1948-49 Robert C. Parker 1949-51 William H. Cates 1951-52 B. A. Ragsdale 1952-53 William T. Mayo 1953-54 H. G. Esterwood 1954-55 H. Cliff Summitt 1955-56 John Y. Humphress 1956-57 Joe W. Cordell 1957-58 Davis H. Atkinson 1958-59 Hugh E. Williams, Jr. 1959-60 George F. Taff 1960-61 Joe W. Cordell 1961-62 Davis H. Atkinson 1962-63 Sam E. Teague 1963-64 Hugh E. Williams, Jr. 1964-65 George F. Taff 1965-66 William H. Cates 1966-67 John A. Rudd, Jr. 1967-68 Gene Berkowitz 1968-69 Spurgeon Camp 1969-70 Lee A. Everhart 1970-71 Gene Berkowitz 1971-72 James R. Ford 1972-73 Joan Heggen 1973-74 Russell R. Bevis 1974 Earl Yancey 1974-75 Johnny Jones 1975-76 James R. Ford 1976-77 Ben W. Thompson 1977-78 Neal D. Sapp 1978-79 Sheldon E. Hilaman 1979-80 Richard P. Walker 1980-81 Hurley W. Rudd 1981-82 James R. Ford 1982-83 Carol Bellamy 1983-84 Kent Spriggs 1984-85 Hurley W. Rudd 1985-86 Jack L. McLean 1986-87 Betty G. Harley 1987-88 Frank Visconti 1988-89 Dorothy Inman-Crews 1989-90 Steve Meisburg 1990-91 Deborah Lightsey 1991-92 Bob Hightower 1992-93 Dorothy Inman-Crews 1993-94 Penny Shaw Herman 1994-95 Scott Maddox 1995-96 Ron Weaver 1996-97

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1923 Oct 1: Guyte P. McCord, resigned.
  • 1931 Jul 14: Frank D. Moor, resigned.
  • 1931 Sep 22: W. Theo Proctor, resigned.
  • 1974 Aug 2: Russell R. Bevis, resigned.

    Postmasters at Tallahassee, 1825-1976 (may be incomplete!)
    Ambrose Crane 1825-26 Isham G. Searcy 1826-41 Benjamin W. Gause 1841-42 W. W. Tyler 1842 Ed. Lockerman 1842 Miles Nash 1842-51 Thomas Hayward 1851 Miles Nash 1851-61 Louisa Cameron 1866-68 William H. Avery 1868-69 S. L. Tibbitts 1869-73 William G. Stewart 1873-85 David W. Gwynn 1885-90 Edward C. Weeks 1890 Harrison Reed 1890-93 Robert B. Gorman 1893-97 John McDougall 1897-1912 Fred Roege 1912 Alexander McDougall 1912-16 George I. Davis 1916-21 William H. May 1921-22 William H. May 1922-32 Thomas J. Chason 1932-35 James Frank Cochran 1935 James Frank Cochran 1935-56 Wayne Searcy 1956-57 D. Peyton Yon 1957-58 D. Peyton Yon 1958-76

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/FL/ofc/tallahassee.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]